

2

то :	MEMBERS OF WORKING GROUP 4: SUBGROUP CO-ORDINATORS OF WORKING GROUP 4
FROM :	CODESA ADMINISTRATION
QUERIES :	LOVEDALIA OR GERDA
RE :	DRAFT MINUTES - 23 MARCH 1992

ANC

Negotiations Comm D Omar	(011) 333-9090 (021) 959-2411
BOPHUTHATSWANA GOVERNMEN D Schoeman B Keikelame	F (0140) 84-2943 (0140) 21851
CISKEI GOVERNMENT H J S Kayser B R Tokota	(0401) 91189 (0401) 91189
DEMOCRATIC PARTY J A Jordaan	(021) 461-0092
DIKWANKWETLA PARTY S P Matla	(01438) 31721
INKATHA FREEDOM PARTY S Felgate B Anderson F T Mdlalose	(0358) 20-2167 (011) 886-5450 (0358) 20-2470
INTANDO YESIZWE PARTY M J Mahlangu c/o J S Mabona W Mohapi	(01215) 2548 (0137) 73-1265
INYANDZA NATIONAL MOVEMEN T J Ndaba D Makhubela	731372 (013140) 879 (01314) 72453 m
LABOUR PARTY S Verveen	(021) 45-1953
NIC/TIC P G Gordhan N Pillay N G Patel	(031) 309-2278 (012) 374-4792X (011) 837-2106

CONVENTION FOR A DEMOCRATIC SOUTH AFRICA

PO Box 307, Isando, 1600, South Africa. Telephone (011) 397-1198/99. Fax (011) 397-2211 NATIONAL PARTY J H L Mentz (021) 461-7617 NATIONAL PEOPLE'S PARTY M Mohanlall (021) 403-2971 S Naidoo (031) 43-1071 . SOLIDARITY PARTY M F Cassim (021) 403-2956 SA COMMUNIST PARTY (011) 836-8366 or 838-2816 G Fraser-Moleketi (011) 836-8366 or 838-2816 T Mtintso TRANSKEI GOVERNMENT (0471) 23876 Z Titus S Sigcau/S H L Matabese (0471) 23876 or (0471) 31-06770 UNITED PEOPLE'S FRONT (0156) 35244^M c/o Chief PR Minister (0156) 24588 L M Mokoena VENDA GOVERNMENT C Neluvhalani : Chief Gov Liaison Off (0159) 23172 (0159) 22971 S Makhuvha XIMOKO PROGRESSIVE PARTY J C Ackron (01526) 23140 C Marivate See Above WORKING GROUP 4 SECRETARY (011) 838-5088 S Albertyn

RAPPORTEUR G Budlender



FAX MESSAGE

то	:	MEMBERS OF WORKING GROUP 4, SUB GROUP 2
FROM	:	CODESA ADMIN
DATE	:	25 MARCH 1992
RE	:	DRAFT MINUTES - 23 MARCH

Attached please find the following :

1. Draft minutes for the meeting on 23 March 1992.

Should you have any queries, please do not hesitate to contact us.

Regards.

CONVENTION FOR A DEMOCRATIC SOUTH AFRICA

PO Box 307, Isando, 1600, South Africa. Telephone (011) 397-1198/99. Fax (011) 397-2211

SBG2MIN2303.WS SUBGRP2/WG4/MINUTES/23 MARCH

THESE ARE DRAFT MINUTES, AS APPROVED BY THE CHAIRPERSON. THEY ARE CONFIDENTIAL AND RESTRICTED TO MEMBERS OF THE WORKING GROUP SUB-GROUP 2, THE WORKING GROUP, THE MANAGEMENT COMMITTEE AND THE DAILY MANAGEMENT COMMITTEE. THEY ARE STILL SUBJECT TO RATIFICATION BY THE WORKING GROUP SUB-GROUP 2 AT ITS NEXT MEETING.

DRAFT MINUTES OF THE FOURTH MEETING OF SUB-GROUP TWO (CITIZENSHIP) OF WORKING GROUP 4 (FUTURE OF THE TBVC STATES) HELD AT THE WORLD TRADE CENTRE ON MONDAY 23 MARCH 1992 AT 10h00

PRESENT: Delegates (See Addendum A)

CTD Marivate (chair)

J Steinberg (minutes)

APOLOGIES: none

1. Roll call

All delegates were present and noted with the exception of RB Tokota (Ciskei Government)

2. Confirmation of Agenda

The agenda was confirmed with an additional point concerning the election of an acting chairperson.

3. Opening remarks of the chairperson

The chairperson welcomed Geoff Budlender, the rapporteur, to the sub-group's proceedings. He urged all delegates to engage in the proceeders with a spirit of openness.

4. Minutes

The minutes of sub-group 2 meeting of 9 March 1992 were adopted with typographical changes.

5. Press Statement

5.1 The Bophuthatawana Government proposed to the meeting that their objection vis a vis restoration be recorded in the press statement.

5.2 The chair reminded the meeting that the question of the content of the press statement is the task of WG and that the issue should no be discussed any further in sub-group 2.

6. Ratification of Draft Report

The chairman's draft report was ratified with the following changes:

6.1 Point 4 of the report (mechanics of restoration of citizenship) becomes point 2. Accordingly,

point 2 (press release) becomes point 3, and point 3 (rapporteur) becomes point for.

6.2 The wording of 2.1 (under the heading of "Mechanics of the Restoration of Citizenship") is altered to mirror that of point 7.2 of the agenda of 9 March 1992 of sub-group 2. 2.1 is altered to mirror the wording of point 7.3 of the agenda of 9 March 1992 os sub-group 2.

7. Information submission from the Ciskei Government

As a result of the absence of the Ciskei Government's delegate, the submission was postponed.

8. Further terms of reference

8.1 <u>It was agreed that</u> the rapporteur, Geoff Budlender, produce a summary report of the various submissions made to sub-group 2 of WG 4.

8.2 It was agreed that the South African government give Mr Budlender access to the relevant departmental data necessary for the adequate completion of his task.

9. Closure

The meeting was closed at 12h37.

SBG2MIN2303.WS SUBGRP2/WG4/MINUTES/23 MARCH

Addendum A

Party/Organisation	Delegate	
ANC	D Omar	
Bophuthatswana Government	B Keikelame	
Democratic Party	JA Jordaan	
Dikwankwetla Party	SP Matla	
Inkatha Freedom Party	FT Mdlalose	
Intando Yesizwe Party	WMB Mohapi	
Inyandza National Movement	D Makhubela	
Labour Party	S Verveen	
National Party	JHL Mentz	
NPP	S Naidoo	
NIC/TIC	NG Patel	
SACP	T Mtinso	
SA Government	RS Schoeman	
	MF Cassim	
Solidarity Party Transkei Government	SHL Matebese	
	LM Mokoena	
UPF	SR Makhuvha	
Venda Government	CTD Marivate	
Ximoko Progressive Party		