SCMN2403.WS

THESE MINUTES ARE CONFIDENTIAL AND RESTRICTED TO MEMBERS OF THE WORKING GROUP 4 STEERING COMMITTEE, THE WORKING GROUP, THE MANAGEMENT COMMITTEE AND THE DAILY MANAGEMENT COMMITTEE.

ADOPTED BY MEETING OF WORKING GROUP 4 STEERING COMMITTEE ON 30 MARCH 1992

MINUTES OF THE EIGHTH MEETING OF THE STEERING COMMITTEE OF WORKING GROUP 4 (THE FUTURE OF THE TBVC STATES HELD AT THE WORLD TRADE CENTRE ON TUESDAY 24 MARCH 1992 AT 14H00

PRESENT:

Delegates (See Addendum A)

SN Sigcau (chair)

S Albertyn (secretary) M Durrheim (minutes)

APOLOGIES:

FT Mdlalose

1. Opening by chairperson

The chairperson welcomed delegates to the meeting.

Adoption of agenda

The agenda was adopted. <u>It however was agreed</u> to hear reports on the joint meeting of sub groups 1 and 2 before proceeding with the agenda.

3. Reports on joint meeting of sub groups 1 and 2

The following persons were present for this item only:

Mr EK Moorcroft - Chair of sub group 1 Mr S Verveen - Chair of sub group 2 Mr G Budlender - Rapporteur for sub group 2 Mr B Ngcuka - Rapporteur for sub group 4

- 3.1 Rapporteur for sub group 2, Geoff Budlender, presented a report on the joint meeting of sub groups 1 and 2:
 - 3.1.1 Sub group 2 had presented a written report to the meeting. There was general agreement within sub group 2 about the restoration of South African citizenship to the people of the TBVC states. There was not agreement about whether restoration of citizenship should be "immediate" or after having tested the will of the people. The question of whether this amounted to sufficient consensus having been reached was raised
 - 3.1.2 Sub group 1 had presented a written report to the meeting. During the presentation of the report it emerged that there was not consensus within sub group 1. While all parties agree that there should be one referendum to test the will of the people, some parties believe that the votes of the people of the TBVC states should be counted separately, while others believe that there should be no separate counting of votes. In view of this lack of consensus within sub group 1 it had been decided not to

continue with the joint meeting.

- 3.2 <u>It was agreed</u> that at the next meeting of working group 4 the difficulty faced by sub group 1 will be spelt out.
- 3.3 <u>It was agreed</u> that Geoff Budlender will report to working group 4 on the joint meeting of sub groups 1 and 2. He will submit a written report in advance to the secretariat.

Ms Sigcau handed over the chair to Mr SE Moeti for the rest of the meeting

4. Adoption of minutes WGSC 4 meeting of 9 March 1992

The minutes of WGSC 4 of 9 March 1992 were adopted with no changes.

Matters arising from WGSC 4 meeting of 9 March 1992

- 5.1 The ANC asked for clarification regarding how press statements (item 7) were handled by Codesa. The matter was discussed.
- There has not yet been a response from the DMC regarding the proposal that WG 4 meet fortnightly (item 8.1). A reminder will be sent to the DMC.

Matters arising from WG 4 meeting of 9 March 1992

- 6.1 The problem of minutes being received late (item 4.1) had been addressed.
- The appointment of two rapporteurs (item 7.2) will be placed on the agenda of the next meeting of WG 4.

Agenda for next WG 4 meeting scheduled for 30 March 1992

The agenda for the next meeting of working group 4 was drafted.

8. Submissions

It was agreed that the submissions received should be dealt with as follows:

- 8.1 Letter from Popcru: Referred to WG 1.
- 8.2 Letter from J.V. Desai: Referred to Codesa Secretariat
- 8.3 Letter from Pule Peter Moate: Referred to WG 4.
- 8.4 Letter from Bafokeng Action Committee: Referred to WG 1 and 4.
- 8.5 Letter from ML Sultan Technikon: Only the relevant section to be referred to Codesa Secretariat.
- 8.6 Letter from Dismissed Ciskei Civil Servants: This is a follow-up of a previous letter. The original has already been referred to the DMC. They will be requested to reply.

9. Future meetings

The following schedule of meetings was agreed to:

Monday 30 March 1992: Working Group 4 - 10h00 to 16h00

Monday 30 March 1992: Working Group 4 Steering Committee to take place after the conclusion of the Working Group 4 meeting

Tuesday 31 March 1992: Working Group 4 Sub Group 1 - 10h00 to 16h00 Tuesday 31 March 1992: Working Group 4 Sub Group 2 - 10h00 to 16h00 Tuesday 31 March 1992: Working Group 4 Sub Group 3 - 10h00 to 16h00 Tuesday 31 March 1992: Working Group 4 Sub Group 4 - 10h00 to 16h00

10. DMC meeting to discuss dates for Codesa 2

It was agreed to propose 14 - 16 May 1992 as dates for Codesa 2. Mr T Abrahams and Mr AT Meyer were nominated to represent WGSC 4 at the meeting of the DMC to discuss this matter.

11. Closure

The meeting was closed at 15h15.

5. N. Sig car 27: 4. 92.

ADDENDUM A

Party/Organisation	Delegate
ANC	M Phosa
Bophuthatswana	SS Seane
Ciskei	N Nogcantsi
INM	JM Matsana
Labour	T Abrahams S Verveen
SA Government	AT Meyer
Venda	SE Moeti