

T.

14.14.

CODESA

WORKING GROUP 4

SUB-GROUP 3

MEETING 9 MARCH 1992

AGENDA : ITEM 3.1

(Paragraph: A 1, Subparagraph 1.1 to 1.5 of the Minutes of the meeting held on 18 February 1992)





CODESA

WORKING GROUP 4

SUB-GROUP 3

MEETING 9 MARCH 1992

AGENDA : ITEM 3.1

(Paragraph : A 1, Subparagraph 1.1 to 1.5 of the Minutes of the meeting held on 18 February 1992)

LAND STILL TO BE TRANSFERED TO TEVC STATES IN TERMS OF BILATERAL AND INDEPENDENCE AGREEMENTS

PENDING (TRUST OWNED LAND) TRANSFERS TO TBV	C STATES	
<u>Bophuthatswana</u>		
District of Pretoria		
Portion 14 of Hammanskraal 112 JR		
Stinkwater 97 JR		2 873 Ha
District of Warmbaths		
Elandslaagte 154 JQ (Portion)		
Buffelsdraai 151 JQ (Portions)		
Slipfontein 551 KQ (Portion)		
Worcester 481 KR (Portion)		2 878 Ha
District of Brits		
Dandelsonias 497 IO		
Roodekopjes 427 JQ Elandsfontein 440 JQ		2 408 Ha
Lianusi ontein 440 JQ		2 100 114
District of Rustenburg		
Nooitgedacht 11 JQ		
Roodewal 378 JP (Portion)		5 033 Ha
District of Hartswater		
Banksdrift 891		343 На
District of Mafikeng		
Bauwel 128 JQ (Portions)		
Thorndale 57 JQ (Portions)		2 884 Ha

District	of	Vryburg

Middelrand (Portion 3) Gamohaan (Portion 2)

429 Ha

Districts of Tweespruit and De Wetsdorp

Roodewal 137 (Portion 1) Colinfield 164

472 Ha

Venda

1.2

District of Soutpansberg

Portions of Rietvlei 130 KT Arial 174 MT

2 290 Ha

Ciskei Ciskei

District of Cathcart

Claremont B no 44
Deep River
Diep Rivier 96 (PTN 11)

District of King Williams Town

Farm 391 14 Ha

District of East London

Arnoldton, Mdantsane and Berlin Allotments

1 876 Ha

District of Stockenstroom

Boildpoint

New Glenholm

1 234 Ha

District of Stutterheim

Kubusie 523

Farm 561

Farm 562

693 Ha

1.4 Transkei

District of Elliot

Aartappels Rust 1125 (Ptn 3)

Draaifontein 1120 (Ptn 6)

Esikobeni 1155 (Ptn 1)

Geldt Maakers Kloof 1126 (Ptn 1)

Gierigaarkasteel 1150 (Ptn 1)

Lora 1125

Onrust 1157 (Remainder)

Kivets Hoek 1148 (Ptn 2)

Schoongezicht 1119 (Ptn 2)

Farms 1121, 1122 and 1150

Zuuir Melk Fontein 1124 (Ptn 3)

4 327 Ha

District of Queenstown

Farms 259, 258, 283, 443 (Remainder) and 268

3 945 Ha

District of Maclear

Farm Bisset 32

886 Ha

District of Matatiële

Drumleary 130 Stanford 127

2 873 Ha

NB Certain of the Trust owned properties mentioned above have already been made available to the TBVC States for own use and administration pending the amendment of the Schedule to the Borders of Particular States Extention Act, 1980 (Act 2/1980), eg:

- 4 ..

Ptn 14 Hammanskraal 112 JR - Pretoria Banksdrift 891 - Hartswater Roodewal 378 JP - Rustenburg Nooitgedacht 11 JQ - Rustenburg Aartappels Rust 1125 and others - Elliot Farms 259, 258, 283 etc - Queenstown Berlin Allotments - King Williams Town

2. LAND STILL TO BE ACQUIRED BY THE RSA FOR ADDITION TO THE TBVC STATES IN TERMS OF BILATERAL AND INDEPENDENCE AGREEMENTS

2.1 Bophuthatswana

District of Warmbaths

Wolfhuiskraal/Zaagkuildrift

10 000 Ha

District of Brits

Ptn of Krelingspost 425 JQ

20 Ha

District of Marico

Stinkhoutboom 43 JQ and Briar 42 JQ

1 600 Ha

2.2 Venda

District of Louis Trichardt

Ptn of Laatsgevonden 20 LT	20 Ha
Portions 1 and 4 of Welgevonden 36 LT	780 Ha
Lukin 643 MS	1 650 Ha
Salaita 188 MT	1 506 Ha

3. FUNDS

Due to the abolishment of the Department of Development Aid and the South African Development Trust on 31 March 1992, no funds have been allocated for the acquisition of any land in 1992/93, earmarked for any of the TBVC States in terms of bilateral and independence agreements.

Amount allocated 1991/92 financial year,

4. TRANSFER OF LAND FROM THE TBVC STATES

Irrespective of certain proposed RSA/TBVC States border adjustments whereby only small pieces of land are concerned, there are no extensive areas of land being part of the TBVC States, to be excised from the said territories to be transferred to the RSA.

However, the Government of Bophuthatswana indicated that it has, in principle, no objection that certain Trust owned land not be incorporated into Bophuthatswana, subject to compensatory land be made available to Bophuthatswana in terms of the RSA/Bophuthatswana Land Agreement.

Bophuthatswana is prepared to negotiate the retention by the RSA of the following areas :

Pachsdraai : Marico10 000 HaOnderstepoort (Mimosa) : Rustenburg2 000 Ha

Hartbeestfontein: Rustenburg 5 000 Ha

Certain communities have been settled on the land mentioned above who are not prepared to be included into Bophuthatswana and on which basis the Government of Bophuthatswana is prepared to negotiate with the RSA regarding compensatory land.

5. INSTITUTIONS

Land earmarked for incorporation into the TBVC States can only be transferred in terms of the Borders of Particular States Extention Act, 1980 (Act 2/1980). No land or properties can therefore be transferred to any of the TBVC States if such land/properties have not been listed in the Schedule to the said Act 2/1980. The Schedule to Act 2/1980, can only be amended or extended with the approval of Parliament (RSA).

JVZ23PF

Carrain communicies have been saicted on the land mentioned above who are not prepared to be probable on Sophutharswaps and on which basis the Government of Sophutharswaps with the RSA regarding compensuous land.

SNORTHERN

terms of the Berder of recorporation for the TBVC States can only be transferred in terms of the Berder of the States Extention Act, 1980 (Act 2/1980). No land of properties can therefore be transferred to any of the TBVC States if each land/properties have not been fisted in the Schedule to the said Act 2/1830. The Schedule to Act, 2/1830, the anesded or extended with the approval of Particular Act, 2/1830.



