

THESE ARE DRAFT MINUTES. THEY ARE CONFIDENTIAL AND RESTRICTED TO THE MEMBERS OF WORKING GROUP 5, ITS STEERING COMMITTEE, THE MC AND THE DMC.

MINUTES OF THE MEETING OF WORKING GROUP 5 HELD AT THE WORLD TRADE CENTRE ON THURSDAY 6 FEBRUARY AT 10H45

(ADOPTED AT THE MEETING OF 17 FEBRUARY 1992, AS AMENDED)

PRESENT:

(Addendum A)

APOLOGIES:

D Curry

Labour Party Labour Party

A Essop K Lategan

Labour Party

1. Chairperson's opening remarks

2. Adoption of the minutes of the previous meeting of Working Group 5

The minutes were adopted, subject to the following amendments:

- 2.1 Regarding Item 5.1, it was agreed that the first sentence thereof should be deleted.
- 2.2 Regarding Addendum A, corrections to the list of delegates were noted as follows:

\* Z Skweyiya

ANC

\* DT Mokoena

Dikwankwetla Party

VS Mahlangu

S Mahlangu IYP

LPHM Mtshali

IFP

2.3 Regarding Item 4.2.5, it was agreed that the last sentence thereof should be deleted.

A suggestion by Prof SS Ripinga, as chairperson, that the remainder of the meeting should be chaired by Mr R Burrows was declined in terms of Item 4.1.2 of the minutes. Prof SS Ripinga therefore continued as chairperson of the meeting.

- 3. Matters arising from the minutes of:
  - 3.1 Working Group 5

It was agreed:

- 3.1.1 That the interpretation of the Terms of Reference of WG5 should be addressed under Item 4 of the agenda.
- 3.1.2 That the issue of Prof S Ripinga, as a member of the MC and DMC, serving on WGSC5 as an ex officio member should be addressed as part of discussions on the chairpersonship of the plenary sessions of the Working Group.

CONVENTION FOR A DEMOCRATIC SOUTH AFRICA

## 3.2 WGSC5

- 3.2.1 Regarding Item 10.1, it was noted that this should read "delegations" and not "delegates".
- 3.2.2 The recommendation contained in Item 10.1 was approved. In accordance with this recommendation, the following delegates will chair WG5 meetings in order of appearance:

*	N Mbonani	Intando Yesizwe Party	
*	AL Singh National People's Party		
*	SS Ripinga Inyandza National Movemen		
*	E Lukhaimane Venda Government		
*	TM Setiloane	Bophuthatswana Government	
*	N Bebeza	Transkei Government	
*	PP Jacobs Ciskei Government		
*	DT Mokoena Dikwankwetla Party		
*	H Ebrahim	NIC/TIC	
*	HM Matjokana	Ximoko Progressive Party	
*	L Wessels	SA Government	
2.1	-	t each chairperson may nominate s/her seat as delegate to WG5 for	

- 3.2.2.1 It was agreed that each chairperson may nominate an alternate to fill his/her seat as delegate to WG5 for the duration of his/her chairpersonship.
- 3.2.2.2 It was agreed that arrangements should be made for the incoming chairperson to attend the meeting of WGSC5 prior to the WG5 meeting which he/she is to chair.
- 3.2.2.3 The role of the co-chairperson as adviser to the chair, as recommended in Item 10.2 of the WGSC5 minutes dated 29 January 1992, was noted and approved.
- 3.2.3 Item 12.1, concerning the role and powers of the Group Secretary, was noted.

# 4. The Terms of Reference of Working Group 5 and issues arising from them

## 4.1 Sub-groups

- 4.1.1 In the light of the wording of the introduction to the Terms of Reference of Working Group 5, the implications of the decision by the Bophuthatswana Government not to endorse the Declaration of Intent were noted and deferred to Item 7 of the agenda.
- 4.1.2 Noting the recommendations contained in Items 6.1.1 and 6.1.2 of the WGSC5 minutes, it was agreed that WGSC5 should proceed accordingly.
- 4.1.3 It was agreed that sufficient consensus had been reached on the formation of sub-groups.
  - 4.1.3.1 It was noted that the IFP was not party to this decision,

being of the opinion that the establishment of sub-groups is premature at this stage. The IFP requested and was afforded the opportunity to present its policy standpoint on this issue, on the understanding that written may be used to complement verbal presentations It was noted that, in and visa versa. presentations preparing its presentation, the IFP in no way intended this not to be explained. It was further noted that the submission was prepared in order to highlight the IFP's understanding of the Terms of Reference of WG5 and to keep WG5 informed of its standpoint.

- Regarding the tasks of the sub-groups, it was agreed that WGSC5 should 4.1.4 formulate recommendations on tasks, composition and timing and report back to WG5 on these matters at its next meeting.
- The following proposal by the Transkei was noted: 4.1.5
  - That Items 1.1.4 'f', 'g', 'i'and 'j', together with the establishment of CODESA as a body of authority, should be addressed by a subgroup on drafting.

That Items 1.1.4 'a', 'b', and 'e' (all administrative tasks) should be

addressed by the Steering Committee.

That Items 1.1.4 'c', 'd' and 'h' should be addressed by a sub-group on time-frames.

### Mechanisms for the receiving and dissemination of reports 4.2

It was agreed that this issue should be informed by the outcome of the meeting between the DMC and WGSC5, and deferred until the next WG5 meeting on that basis.

#### Time-frames 4.3

It was noted that this should be included in the WGSC5 recommendations referred to under Item 4.1.4 above.

### The relationship between WG5, WGSC5 and the DMC 5.

Noting the contents of the Communication to Working Group Steering Committees by the DMC, it was agreed that WGSC5 should report back to WG5 on this issue at its next meeting.

#### Date of next meeting 6.

The next meeting of WG5 will take place on Monday 17 February. It was noted that this meeting will be chaired by Mr N Mbonani, who was accordingly invited to attend the next meeting of WGSC5 on Monday 10 February.

#### 7. Any other business

Referring to Item 6.1 of the Communication to Working Groups, it was agreed that 7.1

WG5 should not issue a press statement other than to advise the public of the date of its next meeting.

- 7.2 Regarding the distribution of documentation, the mechanisms of using heads of delegations to WGs or central party co-ordinators were explained. It was noted that any difficulties concerning administrative matters should be referred to the Group Secretary.
- 7.3 It was noted that the issue raised under 4.1.1 above should be discussed at the MC meeting scheduled for Monday 10 February and reported back to WG5 at its next meeting.
- 8. The meeting closed.

# Addendum A

The following people signed the attendance register:

Organisation	Delegate	Adviser
		a 2:
ANC	P Jordan	G Bizos
	Z Skweyiya	
Bophuthatswana Govt	IJ Reid	G Dixon
	TM Setiloane	
Ciskei Government	P Jacobs	BH Muller
	NM Poni	QJ Qetuka
Democratic Party	RM Burrows	P Gastrow
	RR Hulley	JJ Walsh
Dikwankwetla Party	ST Leokaoke	P Thaele
	DT Mokoena	ARL Xaba
Inkatha Freedom Party	LPHM Mtshali	P Smith
	FX Gasa	M Zondi
Intando Yesizwe Party	VS Mahalangu	JS Mabona
	N Mbonani	S Mtsweni
Inyandza Nat Movement	DS Kunene	TR von Benecke-Jordaan
	SS Ripinga	GG Zama
Labour Party	Mrs Y Bassier	
NIC/TIC	H Ebrahim	N Balton
	Y Vawda	M Ramgobin
National Party	G Bartlett	P Matthee
Transcrime 1 m-ty	C Fismer	D Streicher
National People's Party	O Ganie	VP Rattan
Tuitonii Toopio 5	AL Singh	A Ramalu
Solidarity Party	Y Moolla	M Naranjee
Solium ity 1 mily	NM Raju	I Osman
SACP	D Myelase	B Mafu
5.161	C Dlamini	A Masondo
SA Government	L Wessels	HP Fourie
or covariancin	SS van der Merwe	JM Spaarwater
Transkei Government	N Bebeza	N Mabude
Transker Government	G Zilwa	PG Qokweni
United People's Front	MJ Duba	SN Bambo
Office People's Front	R Ramontja	Di Cambo
Vanda Gavamment	E Lukhaimane	M Mphaphuli
Venda Government	LS Ramavhoya	E Randima
Vimela Programina Portu	HM Matjokana	SE Mathumbu
Ximoko Progressive Party	DZJ Mtebule	SLE Mgimeti
	DZJ Miebule	OLL MENICH