

то	:	MEMBERS OF WORKING GROUP 4: SUBGROUP 4
FROM	:	CODESA ADMINISTRATION
QUERIES	:	LOVEDALIA OR DIANNE
RE	:	DRAFT MINUTES - 18 FEBRUARY 1992

ANC Negot

Negotiations Comm B Mabandla	(011) 333-9090 (021) 959-2411
BOPHUTHATSWANA GOVERNMENT D Schoeman J J Tlholoe	(0140) 84-2943
CISKEI GOVERNMENT H J S Kayser G F Godden	(0401) 91189 (0401) 91375
DEMOCRATIC PARTY N Olivier	(021) 461-0092
DIKWANKWETLA PARTY S Manyane	(01438) 31721
INKATHA FREEDOM PARTY S Felgate V Zulu	(0358) 20-2167 (0358) 20-2439
INTANDO YESIZWE PARTY J S Mabona	(01215) 2548
INYANDZA NATIONAL MOVEMEN T J Ndaba H Motaung	TT (013140) 879
LABOUR PARTY T Abrahams	(021) 403-3042
NIC/TIC P G Gordhan N Pillay P David	(031) 309-2278 (012) 374-4792 (0322) 33-0654
NATIONAL PARTY A Julies	(021) 461-7617

CONVENTION FOR A DEMOCRATIC SOUTH AFRICA

PO Box 307, Isando, 1600, South Africa. Telephone (011) 397-1198/99. Fax (011) 597-2211

NATIONAL PEOPLE'S PARTY M Mohanlall (021) 403-2971 (021) 403-2971 D Govender SOLIDARITY PARTY G N Naidoo SA COMMUNIST PARTY G Fraser-Moleketi (011) 836-8366 or 838-2816 (011) 333-9091 S Mufumadi TRANSKEI GOVERNMENT (0471) 23876 Z Titus W G Makanda UNITED PEOPLE'S FRONT c/o Chief PR Minister (0156) 35244 J M Nonyane VENDA GOVERNMENT C Neluvhalani : Chief Gov Liaison Off (0159) 23172 N Nefale/M P Nthabalala XIMOKO PROGRESSIVE PARTY J C Ackron (01526) 23140 T B Shibambu WORKING GROUP 4 SECRETARY S Albertyn (011) 838-5088



FAX MESSAGE

то	:	MEMBERS OF WG4 SUB-GROUP 4	
FROM	:	CODESA ADMIN - DIANNE	
DATE	:	20 FEBRUARY 1992	
RE	:	DRAFT MINUTES - 18 FEBRUARY	

Enclosed for your information, please find the following :

1. Draft minutes for the WG4 Sub-Group 4 meeting held on 18 February 1992.

Should you have any queries, please do not hesitate to contact us.

Regards.

CONVENTION FOR A DEMOCRATIC SOUTH AFRICA

PO Box 307, Isando, 1600, South Africa. Telephone (011) 397-1198/99. Fax (011) 397-2211



THESE ARE DRAFT MINUTES. THEY ARE CONFIDENTIAL AND RESTRICTED TO THE MEMBERS OF THE WORKING GROUP, THE DAILY MANAGEMENT COMMITTEE AND THE MANAGEMENT COMMITTEE. THEY ARE STILL SUBJECT TO RATIFICATION BY THE WORKING GROUP AT ITS NEXT MEETING.

DRAFT MINUTES OF THE FIRST MEETING OF WORKING GROUP 4 (THE FUTURE OF THE TBVC STATES) SUB-COMMITTEE 4 (THE POLITICAL, LEGAL AND CONSTITUTIONAL EFFECTS OF REINCORPORATION OF THE TBVC STATES) HELD AT THE WORLD TRADE CENTRE ON TUESDAY 18 FEBRUARY 1992

PRESENT: Delegates (See Addendum A)

D Govender (chair)

L Klein (minutes)

1. Election of Chairperson

The Chairperson assumed the chair on the basis of the election held on 17 February 1992, at 16h00, at the World Trade Centre.

2. Chairperson's opening remarks

Delegates were welcomed by the chairperson.

3. Agenda

The agenda was adopted.

4. Rapporteurs

- 4.1 _ The need to appoint a rapporteur for the sub-committee was raised.
- 4.2 It was agreed that the question be referred to the Working Group 4 (WG 4).
- 4.3 It was agreed that in the interim, the chairperson would report back on the sub-committees activities and liaise with the necessary parties.

5. The functioning of the sub-committee and discussion thereof

5.1 It was agreed that the question of re-incorporation or non-reincorporation would not be debated in the sub-committee.

CONVENTION FOR A DEMOCRATIC SOUTH AFRICA



wg4 sg2/minutes/18 february

- 5.1.2 It was agreed that all proposals concerning the relationship between South Africa and the TBVC states would be investigated.
- 5.2 The 2 documents made available by the South African government with the relevant legislation would be discussed.
- 5.3 It was agreed that the sub-committee 4 should aquire all the relevant and factual information relating to the TBVC states and their relationship to South Africa.

6. Submissions of TBVC states

- 6.1 It was agreed that the TBVC states would each present an information paper explaining their structure of government, relevant legislation and bilateral agreements.
 - 6.1.2 Debate arose concerning the form and the timing of the information papers.
 - 6.1.3 It was agreed that the information papers would be comprehensive and would be delivered at the subsequent sub-committee meeting.
- 6.2 Guidelines on the structure of the submissions of the TBVC states were outlined to the subcommittee and accepted. (see Addendum B)

7. Harmonisation of legislation and taxation : Debate

- 7.1 This area may overlap with the terms of reference of sub-committee 3.
- 7.2 The meaning of the term "Harmonisation of legislation and taxation" and whether it implied reincorporation or not was debated.
- 7.3 It was agreed that the question of the harmonisation of legislation would be influenced by the form of government devised under a new constitution.
- 7.4 This issue will be investigated in subsequent sub- committee 4 meetings.

8. The land question : Debate

Debate was curtailed on this issue because it was agreed that it was not part of the Terms of Reference.

- 9. Future meetings
 - 9.1 Debate arose concerning the date of the next subcommittee meeting.
 - 9.2 It was agreed that it was preferable to hold weekly sub-committee meetings.
 - 9.3 The next sub-committee meeting will be held on Monday 2nd March 1992, to allow the TBVC states time to gather together the relevant information, together with the relevant information for presentation of profile papers with supporting documentation or reference to such documents.

sg2m1802.ws (3)

wg4 sg2/minutes/18 february

10. Closure

4

The Chairperson closed the meeting at 13h10.

sg2m1802.ws (3)

wg4 sg2/minutes/18 february

Addendum A

ANC Bophuthatswana Gvt Ciskei Gvt Democratic Pty Dikwankwetla Pty Inkatha Freedom Pty Intando Yesizwe Pty Inyandza National Movement Labour Party National Party NPP NIC/TIC SACP SA Government Solidarity Pty Transkei Gvt United People's Ft Venda Gvt Ximoko Progressive Party

B Mabandla JJ Tlholoe GF Godden NJ Olivier S Manyane VT Zulu JS Mabena H Motaung T Abrahams A Julies D Govender PB Soobrayan S Mufamadi DW Auret GN Naidoo Mr Makhanda JM Nonyane MP Nthabalala T Shimbambu