SCMN2701.WS
WG 4 STEERING COMMITTEE/MINUTES/27 JANUARY

THESE MINUTES ARE CONFIDENTIAL AND RESTRICTED TO THE MEMBERS OF THE WORKING GROUP STEERING COMMITTEE, THE WORKING GROUP, THE DAILY MANAGEMENT COMMITTEE AND THE MANAGEMENT COMMITTEE.

ADOPTED BY MEETING OF WORKING GROUP 4 STEERING COMMITTEE ON 11 FEBRUARY 1992

MINUTES OF THE SECOND MEETING OF THE STEERING COMMITTEE OF WORKING GROUP 4 (THE FUTURE OF THE TBVC STATES) HELD AT THE WORLD TRADE CENTRE ON MONDAY 27 JANUARY 1992 AT 09H00

PRESENT:

Delegates (See Addendum A)

Ms SN Sigcau (chair)

S Albertyn (secretary)
G Hutchings (minutes)

APOLOGIES:

FT Mdlalose

1. Chairperson's opening remarks

It was agreed that the purpose of this meeting should be to decide what is required of the Working Group 4 (WG 4) and to help facilitate the WG 4.

2. Agenda of Working Group Steering Committee (WGSC 4)

The agenda was proposed by the Chairperson and adopted by the meeting.

3. Agenda of WG 4

- The WGSC 4 will draft an agenda for each WG 4 meeting. Written submissions from WG 4 members will be considered for the agenda.
- 3.2 A draft agenda for the meeting of WG 4 was drawn up copies of which will be circulated to delegates and advisers.

4. Minutes

The meeting amended the draft minutes of WG 4 held on Monday 20 January 1992, noting that these minutes have yet to be approved by WG 4.

5. Research

- The need for further research and information, as guided by the Terms of Reference was noted. It was agreed that research should be conducted into:
 - 5.1.1 the effect of re-incorporation, if this is decided upon,
 - 5.1.2 the effect if re-incorporation is not decided upon

so that WG 4 will be able to make the necessary recommendations.

5.2 It was agreed that research and information should not be limited to any particular organisation. The TBVC States themselves, the SA Government and other groupings could all be drawn upon for contributions. At the next WG 4 meeting the procedure and areas for research will be decided upon.

6. Reincorporation

It was agreed that each of the TBVC states and the South African government should state their positions on reincorporation at the next meeting of WG4.

7. Formation of sub-committees

- 7.1 The need for sub-committees was agreed by WGSC4 and the following proposal will be made to WG 4:
 - 7.1.1 That three sub-committees should be formed to investigate:
 - 7.1.1.1 the implications of a decision not to reincorporate the TBVC states into South Africa;
 - 7.1.1.2 the administrative, financial and practical implications of the reincorporation of the TBVC states into South Africa;
 - 7.1.1.3 The political, legal and constitutional implications of the reincorporation of the TBVC states into South Africa.
- 7.2 Sub-committees will submit their findings to WGSC 4.
- 7.3 It was suggested that each sub-committee should comprise approximately nine members.
- 7.4 WGSC 4 to co-ordinate sub-committees activities.
- 7.5 Sub-committees may use their discretion regarding organisations to approach for information.

8. Rapporteurs

- Proposal to be submitted, by the Secretariat to the DMC, that individuals (including, but not necessarily limited to, delegates and advisers) be used as rapporteurs. It was suggested that
 1 3 people could be used as rapporteurs.
- 8.2 Rapporteurs should strengthen the lines of communication between all parties/organisations and between the WGs themselves.

9. Press Statements

- 9.1 Press Statements should be handled by the DMC.
- 9.2 Information regarding attendance at WGSC4 meetings, together with the times of those meetings, may be made known to the media by any WGSC4 member.

10. Chairperson

It was agreed that SN Sigcau would chair the next meeting of WG 4 on 6 February 1992.

11. Meeting of WGSC

The next meeting of the WGSC 4 will be determined after the meeting of WG 4 on 6 February 1992.

12. Closure

The meeting closed at 13h00

27 4. 92.

Addendum A

The following persons attended the WGSC 4 meeting of 27 January:

Organisation	Delegate		
ANC Bophuthatswana	M Phosa BP Keikelame		
		Ciskei	N Nogcantsi
INM Labour Party SA Government Transkei	JM Matsana T Abrahams RF Botha SN Sigcau		
		Venda	SE Moeti