

TO : HEADS OF DELEGATION OF CODESA WORKING GROUP 3, CO-ORDINATODRS OF WORKING GROUP 3, MEMBERS OF WGSC3

FROM : CODESA ADMINISTRATION

QUERIES : LOVEDALIA OR DIANNE

RE

DRAFT AGENDA - 17/2 AND DRAFT MINUTES - 11/2

PLEASE WOULD NOMINATED HEADS OF DELEGATION OR CO-ORDINATORS FOR THE WORKING GROUP, ENSURE THAT THIS DOCUMENT IS DISTRIBUTED CONFIDENTIALLY TO ALL MEMBERS OF THE WORKING GROUP REQUIRING IT, INCLUDING DELEGATES, ADVISERS AND MEMBERS OF THE WORKING GROUP STEERING COMMITTEE (WGSC) WHERE APPROPRIATE.

THANK YOU.

WORKING GROUP 3

ANC Bophuthatswana Gvt Ciskei Gvt Democratic Pty Dikwankwetla Pty IFP

•

Intando Ysizwe

Inyandza Nat Mvmnt Labour Party NIC/TIC

National Pty

National People's Pty Solidarity Pty SACP SA Government

Transkei Gvt United People's Frt Venda Gvt

Ximoko Prog Pty

WG3 Secretary

Negotiations Comm D Schoeman H J S Kayser Off : Z de Beer R H Mopeli A Macaulay/ S Felgate M J Mahlangu c/o J S Mabona P M H Maduna L Landers P G Gordhan N Pillay D de Villiers

M Mohanlall A Arbee G Fraser-Moleketi B J du Plessis c/o L Niewoudt Z Titus c/o PR Chief Min C Neluvhalani: Chief Gvt Liaison Off A E Nkondo/Ackron

C Coleman

011-333-9090* 0140-84-2943* 0401-91189* 021-461-0092* 01438-31569*

0358-20-2167 *

01215-2548 • 013140-862 + 021-45-3706 • 031-309-2278 * 012-374-4792 ask for fax 021-45-3216 • 012-323-2275 • 021-403-2971 • 012-325-7720 • 011-836-8366 • 021-461-2934 • 012-343-8043 • 0471-23876 • 0156-35244 •

0159-23172* 01526-23140 or* Ria Meyer on 01526-24646 ask for fax 011-618-2079 6

CONVENTION FOR A DEMOCRATIC SOUTH AFRICA PO Box 307, Isando, 1600, South Africa. Telephone (011) 397-1198/99. Fax (011) 397-2211



FAX MESSAGE

то	:	MEMBERS OF WORKING GROUP 3
FROM	:	CODESA ADMIN
DATE	:	13 FEBRUARY 1992
RE	:	DRAFT MINUTES AND AGENDAS

Enclosed for your information, please find the following :

1. Draft Agenda for the WG3 Meeting to be held on 17 February

2. Draft Minutes for the WG3 Meeting held on 11 February.

Should you have any queries, please do not hesitate to contact us.

Regards

CONVENTION FOR A DEMOCRATIC SOUTH AFRICA

PO Box 307, Isando, 1600, South Africa. Telephone (011) 397-1198/99. Fax (011) 397-2211

DRAFT AGENDA FOR THE MEETING OF WORKING GROUP THREE (INTERIM ARRANGEMENTS) : MEETING 4 ON 17 FEBRUARY 1992 AT THE WORLD TRADE CENTRE AT 10H00

- Opening of the Meeting and Welcome 1. 2. Apologies Ratification of the Minutes of the Third Meeting of Working Group 3 3. Adoption of Agenda 4. 5. Tabling of Report of Rapporteurs Tabling of Report of the WGSC3 6. 7. Exploratory Discussion of : 7.1 Reasons/Need for Interim Arrangements 7.2 Purposes and Objectives of Proposed Interim Arrangements 7.3 Functions of Interim Arrangements in Terms of : 7.3.1 **Executive Bodies** 7.3.2 Legislative Bodies 7.4 Structure and Implications of Interim Arrangements in Respect of : 7.4.1 Executive Bodies 7.4.2 Legislative Bodies 7.5 Process of Bringing into Operation Interim Arrangements and Recommended Time Frames for Interim Arrangements
- 8. Confirmation of Dates for Next Meetings
- 9. Other Urgent Business
- 10. Closure

THESE ARE DRAFT MINUTES. THEY ARE CONFIDENTIAL AND RESTRICTED TO THE MEMBERS OF THE WORKING GROUP, THE DAILY MANAGEMENT COMMITTEE AND THE MANAGEMENT COMMITTEE. THEY ARE STILL SUBJECT TO RATIFICATION BY THE WORKING GROUP AT ITS NEXT MEETING.

DRAFT MINUTES OF THE THIRD MEETING OF WORKING GROUP 3 (INTERIM ARRANGEMENTS) HELD AT THE WORLD TRADE CENTRE ON TUESDAY, 11 FEBRUARY 1992 AT 10H00 - 16H45

PRESENT :

Delegates and Advisers (see Addendum A)

- K Andrew (Chair)
- C Coleman (Secretary)
- K Kweyama-Makgabo (Minute-taker)
- P Kleynhans (Rapporteur)
- T Madiba (Rapporteur)

1. Opening and Welcome

K Andrew opened the meeting at 10h45

2. Apologies

The Bophuthatswana delegation sent apologies. Only one adviser was able to be present at the meeting.

3. Continuation of Exploratory Discussion

The following representatives of political parties presented their delegation's view of interim arrangements :

African National Congress - T Mbeki Ciskei Government - H J S Kayser Dikwankwetla Party - R H Mopeli Intando Yesizwe Party - N J Mahlangu Inyandza Naational Movement - P M H Maduna National People's Party - A Rajbansi Solidarity Party - A Arbee South African Government - B J du Plessis United People's Party - E Maphelo Venda Government - Rev Khorombi Ximoko Progressive Party - A E Nkondo

4. Ratification of Minutes

The following changes were made to the minutes as tabled for ratification :

4.1.1 The section should now read - "It was proposed that the chair should be accompanied by an additional member of the WGSC3 to meetings with Daily Management Committee when necessary."

- 4.4.2 The section should now read "It was agreed to appoint P Kleynhans (SA Government) and T Madiba (Transkei Government) as rapporteurs. The WGSC could, however, augment these by appointing additional rapporteurs to the Working Group 3"
- 4.4.5 The section should now read "Rapporteurs would send by facsimile draft summaries of the inputs by political parties to those parties for comment to be conveyed to the rapporteurs within 48 hours of receiving the draft."

5. Confirmation of Dates and Chairpersons for the Next Meeting

- 5.1 The next Working Group 3 meeting will be held on Monday, 17 February 1992 at 10h00 to end no later than 16h45 at the World Trade Centre. The meeting thereafter would be Monday, 24 February 1992 at 10h00. There will be no meetings of Working Group 3 on Tuesdays for the next fortnight.
- 5.2 The issue of a chairperson for the next meeting was referred to WGSC3 for decision.

6. Other Urgent Business

6.1 Submissions

6.1.1	Concern was raised that the Media Conference held after the meeting of 10 February did not deal adequately with the publicity of inviting submissions. The Working Group was informed that the Daily Management Committee would assess the impact of the Media Conference at its meeting on 17 February and thereafter additional steps taken if deemed necessary.		
6.1.2	Delegations were reminded that they were not obliged to give written submissions and that they were welcome to participate in discussions even if they did not wish to table written proposals.		
6.1.3	The rapporteurs were urged to make use of the Terms of Reference of Working Group 3 when preparing reports.		

7. Closure

The meeting closed at 13h05.

2

ADDENDUM A

DELEGATES AND ADVISERS PRESENT AT THE THIRD MEETING OF WORKING GROUP 3 :

Organisation	Delegate	Adviser
ANC	T Mbeki	J Netshinitenzhe
	J Nhlanhla	A Chaskalson
Bophuthatswana Government		M I Menong
Ciskei Government	H J S Kayser	M Gaca
	S V Notshe	A C Cilliers
Democratic Party	R V Carlisle	H Zille
	G Erasmus	R J Lorimer
Dikwankwetla Party	R H Mopeli	M Moroke
	B S Rajuili	L J Mosuhli
Inkatha Freedom Party	M Myeni	S Vos
	V B Ndlovu	5 705
Intando Yesizwe Party	N J Mahlangu	N T Mtsweni
	M P Mahlangu	J B Sibanyoni
Inyanza National Movement	P M H Madunga	J H Mlambo
	- III II Muuunqu	M V Nelani
Labour Party	P Hendrickse	R O'Reilly
	L Landers	C J G Leander
NIC/TIC	P G Gordhan	I Pillay
		S Patel
National Party	D de Villiers	N Koornhof
	R Meyer	F van Deventer
National People's Party	A Rajbansi	E Joosab
	K Panday	M Govender
Solidarity Party	A Arbee	M Jajbhay
	K Rajoo	M Naidoo
SA Communist Party	J Cronin	J Ngculu
	N Madlala	JINgculu
South African Government	B J du Plessis	J J Noeth
	J Scheepers	G von Bratt
Transkei Government	L L Mtshizana	
	J T Madiba	M Njisane D Ndawonde
United People's Party	E Mapheto	
	K A Mariri	M M Makgaleng
Venda Government	K B Magwaba	M Bopape
	Rev Khorombi	S Mahada
Ximoko Progressive Party	M L Nkuna	Rev Rabali
and a source i with	A E Nkondo	E P S Mahlahle
	A E INKONDO	Adv H F Junod