

MINUTES OF THE EIGHTH MEETING OF WORKING GROUP 2 (CONSTITUTIONAL PRINCIPLES) HELD AT THE WORLD TRADE CENTRE ON MONDAY, 23 MARCH 1992 AND TUESDAY 24 MARCH 1992

(ADOPTED AT THE WORKING GROUP 2 MEETING HELD ON 30/31 MARCH 1992)

PRESENT:

Delegates and advisors (See Addendum A) Adv Holomisa (Chair) M Phillips (Secretary) R Hartley (Minutes)

DOCUMENTS DISTRIBUTED:

- 1. Draft agenda
- 2. Ratified minutes of the sixth meeting of Working Group 2 held on 2.3.92
- 3. Draft minutes of the seventh meeting of Working Group 2 held on 9.3.92
- 4. 23.3.92 Draft principle on a bill/charter of fundamental rights prepared by the Steering Committee of Working Group 2
- 23.3.92 Draft principle on the role of traditional leaders prepared by the Steering Committee of Working Group 2
- 6. 23.3.92 Draft principle on economic freedom, governmental intervention and economic systems prepared by the Steering Committee of Working Group 2
- 7. 23.3.92 Draft principle on the accommodation of the diversity of languages, cultures and religions prepared by the Steering Committee of Working Group 2
- 8. Revised submissions: National People's Party: Group and minority rights
- 9. Democratic Party: Policy proposals for the management of transition
- Proposals of the Inyandza National Movement concerning the key issues to be addressed in the 2nd Assignment
- 11. Intando Yesizwe Party submission on constitution making body: Codesa Working Group 2
- 12. Preliminary proposals of the Inyandza National Movement concerning constitution making body and the constitution making process
- 13. 24.3.92 United People's Front submission to Codesa on constitution making body: Working Group
- 14. Ciskei Government: Submission to Codesa on constitution making body and process
- 15. 23.3.92 Ximoko Progressive Party: Position paper on the constitution making process
- 16. 23.3.92 Codesa Working Group 3: SA Government proposals for transitional arrangements

1. Apologies 23.3.92

R Cronje Bophutatswana Government

P Ndamase Transkei Government

(Alternate: M Nonkonyana)

F Cachalia Natal/Transvaal Indian Congresses

(Alternate: F Haysom)

D Worrall Democratic Party

(Alternate: A Leon)

BS Ngubane Inkatha Freedom Party

(Alternate: M Alachouzos)

Apologies 24.3.92

J Rabie National Party

(Alternate: S Camerer)

SG Mothibe Bophutatswana Government R Cronje (Alternate: TE Scheepers)

I Findlay

S Ismail National People's Party

(Alternate: AS Pillay) Transkei Government

P Ndamase Transkei Government

(Alternate: M Nonkonyana)

I Omar Solidarity Party

(Alternate: R Arenstein)

C Ramaphosa African National Congress

(Alternate: A Sachs)

2. Ratification of Agenda

- 2.1 The Working Group agreed to include the following items under Any Other Business:
 - 2.1.1 Steering Committee report on submissions to Working Group 2 from the public.
 - 2.1.2 Further discussion of item 4.4 of the minutes of 2.3.92
 - 2.1.3 The ANC proposed that the issue of the reported impending execution of death row prisoners be placed on the agenda. Sufficient consensus was not achieved on the ANC proposal and discussion was suspended pending a possible agreement on the issue in Working Group 1.

3. Ratification of Minutes

- 3.1 The minutes of the meeting of 9.3.92 were ratified with the following change:
 - 3.1.1 R Cronje was added to the list of those who tendered their apologies.

4. Discussion on Assignment 2: Constitution Making Body and Process

- 4.1 The following parties made submissions on the issue:
 - 4.1.1 Inyandza National Movement
 - 4.1.2 Intando Yesizwe Party
 - 4.1.3 Democratic Party
 - 4.1.4 Solidarity Party
 - 4.1.5 United People's Front
 - 4.1.6 Transkei Government
 - 4.1.7 Ciskei Government
 - 4.1.8 Ximoko Progressive Party
 - 4.1.9 SA Government
 - 4.1.10 The meeting ended before questions to the SA Government had been completed. It was agreed that questions would be continued at the next meeting.
- 4.2 The following parties will make submissions to the next meeting of the Working Group:
 - 4.2.1 Labour Party
 - 4.2.2 African National Congress
- 4.3 Parties which made verbal submissions were requested to supply written versions to delegates at the next meeting.

5. Any Other Business

- 5.1 Public Submissions to Working Group 2
 - 5.1.1 The Steering Committee reported that it was working through public submissions and that summaries of those submissions which had been worked through would be presented to the next meeting.

6. Next Meeting

6.1 The next meeting will take place on 30.3.92 from 10h00 to 16h00 and 31.3.92 from 9h00 to 15h00.

ADDENDUM A

The following delegates and advisors signed the Attendance Register of Working Group 2 meeting held on 23 March 1992:

Organisation	Delegate/Advisor
African National Congress	MV Moosa
	F Ginwala
	A Sachs
	C Ramaphosa
Bophutatswana Government	SG Mothibe
	TE Scheepers
Ciskei Government	MC Kashe
	IJ Smuts
	J Laubuschagne
	VR Zietsman
Democratic Party	CW Eglin
	AJ Leon
	D Welsh
Dikwankwetla Party	SOM Moji
	S Mopeli
	M Mopeli
Inkatha Freedom Party	N Brits
	SH Gumede
	BS Ngubane
	M Alachouzos
Intando Yesizwe Party	SJ Mgidi
	AP Laka
	MP Mahlangu
	IT Mahlangu
Inyandza National Movement	EN Ginindza
	C Albertyn
Labour Party	D Lockey
	IM Richards
	G Devenish
	C Nasson
Natal/Transvaal Indian Congresses	Z Yacoob
	IC Meer
	F Haysom

WORKING GROUP 2\MINUTES\23,24 MARCH

National Party F van Heerden

S Camerer I Rautenbach J Rabie

National People's Party M Mohanlall

S Ismail B Singh H Neerahoo

Solidarity Party DS Rajah

I Omar K Reddy R Arenstein

SA Communist Party J Slovo

B Nzimande N Hoosain E Daniels

SA Government G Viljoen

JT Delport F Venter JHE Basson

Transkei Government SP Holomisa

R Nogumla DS Koyana

United People's Front MC Ramusi

KR Malatji RJ Dombo MJ Mahlangu

Venda Government GM Ligege

MP Nthabalala A Budeli Adv Mushasha

Ximoko Progressive Party EE Ngobeni

KR Myakayaka EPP Mhinga J Ackron

WORKING GROUP 2\MINUTES\23,24 MARCH

The following delegates and advisors signed the Attendance Register of Working Group 2 meeting held on 24 March 1992:

Organisation	Delegate/Adviso
African National Congress	MV Moosa
	A Sachs
	F Ginwala
Bophutatswana Government	TE Scheepers
Ciskei Government	MC Kashe
	IJ Smuts
	J Laubuschagne
	VR Zietsman
Democratic Party	CW Eglin
	D Worrall
	D Welsh
Dikwankwetla Party	SOM Moji
	S Mopeli
	M Mopeli
Inkatha Freedom Party	N Brits
	SH Gumede
	BS Ngubane
	M Alachouzos
Intando Yesizwe Party	SJ Mgidi
	AP Laka
	MP Mahlangu
	IT Mahlangu
Inyandza National Movement	C Albertyn
	EN Ginindza
	I Lephoko
	BE Mabuza
Labour Party	D Lockey
	IM Richards
	G Devenish

Natal/Transvaal Indian Congresses

C Nasson

Z Yacoob IC Meer F Haysom

WORKING GROUP 2\MINUTES\23,24 MARCH

National Party F van Heerden

S Camerer I Rautenbach

National People's Party M Mohanlall

S Ismail B Singh H Neerahoo

Solidarity Party DS Rajah

K Reddy R Arenstein

SA Communist Party J Slovo

B Nzimande N Hoosain E Daniels

SA Government G Viljoen

JT Delport F Venter JHE Basson

Transkei Government S Holomisa

R Nogumla DS Koyana

United People's Front MC Ramusi

KR Malatji RJ Dombo MJ Mahlangu

Venda Government GM Legege

MP Nthabalala A Budeli Adv Mushasha

Ximoko Progressive Party EE Ngobeni

KR Myakayaka EPP Mhinga J Ackron