

TO : MEMBERS OF WORKING GROUP 4: SUBGROUP 2

FROM : CODESA ADMINISTRATION

QUERIES : LOVEDALIA OR DIANNE

RE : DRAFT MINUTES - 17/18 FEBRUARY 1992

ANC

Negotiations Comm (011) 333-9090 D Omar (021) 959-2411

BOPHUTHATSWANA GOVERNMENT

D Schoeman (0140) 84-2943 B Keikelame (0140) 21851

CISKEI GOVERNMENT

H J S Kayser (0401) 91189 B R Tokota (0401) 91189

DEMOCRATIC PARTY

J A Jordaan (021) 461-0092

DIKWANKWETLA PARTY

S P Matla (01438) 31721

INKATHA FREEDOM PARTY

S Felgate (0358) 20-2167 F T Mdlalose (0358) 20-2470

INTANDO YESIZWE PARTY

J S Mabona (01215) 2548 W Mohapi (0137) 73-1265

INYANDZA NATIONAL MOVEMENT

T J Ndaba (013140) 879

D Makhubela

LABOUR PARTY S Verveen

NIC/TIC

P G Gordhan (031) 309-2278 N Pillay (012) 374-4792

N G Patel

NATIONAL PARTY J H L Mentz

NATIONAL PEOPLE'S PARTY M Mohanlall (021) 403-2971 S Naidoo SOLIDARITY PARTY M F Cassim (021) 403-2956 SA COMMUNIST PARTY G Fraser-Moleketi (011) 836-8366 or 838-2816 T Mtintso (011) 836-8366 or 838-2816 TRANSKEI GOVERNMENT Z Titus (0471) 23876 S Sigcau/S H L NMatabese UNITED PEOPLE'S FRONT c/o Chief PR Minister (0156) 35244 L M Mokoena VENDA GOVERNMENT C Neluvhalani : Chief Gov Liaison Off (0159) 23172 (0159) 22971 S Makhuvha XIMOKO PROGRESSIVE PARTY J C Ackron (01526) 23140 C Marivate (012) 429-3221 WORKING GROUP 4 SECRETARY

(011) 838-5088

S Albertyn



# FAX MESSAGE

TO : MEMBERS OF WG4 SUB-GROUP 2

FROM : CODESA ADMIN - DIANNE

DATE: 20 FEBRUARY 1992

RE : DRAFT MINUTES - 17/18 FEBRUARY

Enclosed for your information, please find the following:

 Draft minutes for the WG4 Sub-Group 2 meeting held on 17/18 February 1992.

Should you have any queries, please do not hesitate to contact us.

Regards.



THESE ARE DRAFT MINUTES. THEY ARE CONFIDENTIAL AND RESTRICTED TO THE MEMBERS OF THE SUB-COMMITTEE 2, THE WORKING GROUP, THE DAILY MANAGEMENT COMMITTEE AND THE MANAGEMENT COMMITTEE. THEY ARE STILL SUBJECT TO RATIFICATION BY THE WORKING GROUP AT ITS NEXT MEETING.

DRAFT MINUTES OF THE MEETING OF SUB-COMMITTEE TWO (CITIZENSHIP), OF WORKING GROUP 4 (THE FUTURE OF THE TBVC STATES) HELD AT THE WORLD TRADE CENTRE ON MONDAY 17 FEBRUARY 1992 AND TUESDAY 18 FEBRUARY 1992

PRESENT:

Delegates (See Addendum A)

C Marivate (chair)

P Mafojane (minutes)

1. Chairperson's opening remarks

Delegates were welcomed by the chairperson.

2. Chairperson

The meeting confirmed C. Marivate's appointment as chair subsequent to a resolution of the subgroup's meeting on 17 February 1992.

Agenda

The meeting agreed to discuss <u>citizenship</u> (Item 1.4 on the Terms of Reference to sub-committee 2 of WG 4).

### 4. Citizenship

- 4.1 It was agreed that the Declaration of Intent be used as guideline for resolving the issue of citizenship in the TBVC states. However, the sub-committee 2, should at all times keep to its specific Terms of Reference, viz "citizenship" in the TBVC states.
- 4.2 The TBVC states were each given a chance to outline what maintains in their respective territories regarding the question of citizenship.
- 5. Restoration of citizenship (views of TBVC states)

- 5.1 Transkei and Venda support restoration of South African citizenship en bloc.
- 5.2 Ciskei supports restoration of SA citizenship subject to involving the people of its territory.
- 5.3 Bophuthatswana does not support restoration of South African citizenship en bloc but allows its citizens to renounce their Bophuthatswana citizenship if they so wish.
- 5.4 Delegates from other parties also expressed their views on the question of citizenship and how the people in the TBVC states were deprived of it.

# 6. Further information on the question of citizenship in the TBVC states

It was agreed that the TBVC states and the South African Government furnish delegates of sub-committee 2 of WG 4 with the following information:

- present laws of citizenship
- \* number of people affected
- \* residence of citizens
- the number of citizens in other states
- the number of other people in TBVC states
- \* requirements for TBVC citizens and residents to become South African citizens
- laws governing elections
- the status of non-ethnic citizens
- \* the number of people who have had their citizenship restored in each state in terms of the Citizenship Restoration Act of 1986

#### Consensus

- 7.1 Several statements were advanced as summary consensus of the deliberations. These were accepted in principle but agreement had to be reached on the wording. it was resolved that an ad hoc committee work out a final consensus statement to be ratified in the next meeting of the sub-committee 2 (of WG 4). The ANC, the South African Government and the Solidarity Party together with the chairman remained working on the statement of consensus after the sub-committee 2 had adjourned.
- 7.2 The following is the wording of the ad hoc committee on consensus:

That on the question of the citizenship of the TBVC states, consensus exists that South African citizenship be restored except where specific exclusion of citizenship is expressed. Procedures for such restoration (including the issue of testing of the will of the people, presently being considered by sub-committee 1 of WG 4) have still to be decided upon.

### 8. Question of substitutes

The South African Government made a submission on the question of substitutes to the sub-committee 2 of WG 4 (see Addendum B). This matter to be referred to the Steering Committee of WG 4 for its ruling.

## 9. Documents circulated

A document by the SA Government titled "The Question of Citizenship" (this was handed out at the meeting and given the size of the document, is not annexed).

# 10. Closure

The chairperson closed the meeting at 13h45

# SBG2MIN1802.WS

#### SUBCOM2/WG4/MINUTES/18 FEBRUARY

### Addendum A

The following persons attended the meeting of sub-committee 2

Organisation Delegate ANC D Omar B Keikelame Bophuthatswana Government Ciskei Government RB Tokota JA Jordaan Democratic Party SP Matla Dikwankwetla Party FT Mdlalose **IFP** Intando Yesizwe Party W Mohapi D Makhube Inyandza National Movement S Verveen Labour Party of SA JHL Mentz National Party S Naidoo NPP NG Patel NIC/TIC T Mtintso SACP RS Schoeman SA Government NF Cassim Solidarity Party Transkei Government SN Sigcau UPF LM Mokoena Venda Government SR Makhuvha

\*Ximoko Progressive Party

C Marivate

ADDENDUM B.

18 February 1992

The Chairman Sub-Committee 2 Working Groupe 4

Dear Prof Marivate,

My request on behalf of the South African Government is that persons with the agreed status of "substitutes" to delegates who are members of Sub-Committees be allowed to be present during meetings of the Sub-Committee in the interests of continuity and more effective functioning of the Sub-Committee.

It would be desirable that Codesa carries the financial cost of such attendance, but alternatively delegations shoul be allowed to arrange for substitutes to attend together with their delegate in the sub-committee at their own cost.

A speedy decision by an appropriate body at the appropriate level would be much appreciated.

Sincerely

RS SCHOEMAN M.P.

SOUTH AFRICAN GOVERNMENT REPRESENTATIVE