

WORKING GROUP 5\SUB-GROUP 2\MINUTES\23 MARCH

THESE MINUTES ARE CONFIDENTIAL, AND RESTRICTED TO WORKING GROUP 5, ITS STEERING COMMITTEE, THE DAILY MANAGEMENT COMMITTEE AND THE MANAGEMENT COMMITTEE.

(Adopted at the meeting of 30 March 1992, without amendment)

DRAFT MINUTES OF THE MEETING OF SUB-GROUP 2 OF WORKING GROUP 5 HELD AT THE WORLD TRADE CENTRE ON MONDAY 23 MARCH 1992 AT 14H00

PRESENT: (Addendum A)

APOLOGIES:

P Gastrow PP Jacobs Democratic Party Ciskei Government

1. Chairperson's opening remarks

The meeting was chaired by Mr N Mbonani.

2. Adoption of agenda

In the absence of a formal agenda, it was agreed that the meeting's proceedings should concentrate upon the following:

- Task group meetings for 23 March 1992
- A programme of meetings for Monday 30 March 1992

3. Task group meetings for 23 March 1992

- 3.1 It was noted that:
 - 3.1.1 Members of Task Group 2 should prepare briefs for the drafting of an electoral act, and that these should be tabled at the meeting scheduled for Monday 30 March 1992.
 - 3.1.2 Copies of the SA Constitution Act will shortly be made available to members of Task Group 3.
 - 3.1.3 Task Group 2 will not meet on Tuesday 24 March, as originally suggested.
- 3.2 It was agreed that:

3.2.1 None of the task groups would need to meet that day.

4. A programme of meetings for Monday 30 March 1992

It was agreed that:

4.1 Proceedings on 30 March 1992 should begin with task group meetings at 10h00, followed by a meeting of Sub-group 2 and, if necessary, a full plenary session of the Working Group.

CONVENTION FOR A DEMOCRATIC SOUTH AFRICA

WORKING GROUP 5\SUB-GROUP 2\MINUTES\23 MARCH

- 4.2 If task groups require more time than can be accommodated by Monday's schedule, they should arrive at an appropriate programme which could include meetings on Sunday evenings and/or Tuesdays.
- 5. There being no further business, the meeting closed.

N. Mba

WORKING GROUP 5\SUB-GROUP 2\MINUTES\23 MARCH

Addendum A

The following people signed the attendance register:

African National Congress

Bophuthatswana Government

AM Boikanyo LI Morule

MN Poni

Ciskei Government

Democratic Party

Dikwankwetla Party

Inkatha Freedom Party

Intando Yesizwe Party

Inyandza National Movement

Labour Party

Natal/Transvaal Indian Congress

National Party

National People's Party

Solidarity Party

South African Communist Party

South African Government

Transkei Government

R Burrows

DT Mokoena CC Harrington

LPHM Mtshali P Smith

N Mbonani VS Mahlangu

SS Ripinga GG Zama

D Curry J Scholtz

Y Vawda N Balton

C Fismer PA Mathee

AA Koobair AS Pillay

M Naranjee I Osman

MI Scott D Mafu

L Wessels GC von Bratt

GE Zilwa

.

WORKING GROUP 5\SUB-GROUP 2\MINUTES\23 MARCH

M Mabude

United People's Front

Venda Government

Ximoko Progressive Party

Minutes:

ŝ

M Tladi IKE Moloko

LS Ramavhoya M Mphaphuli

ML Nkuna DZL Mtebule

Pam Saxby