THESE ARE MINUTES. THEY ARE CONFIDENTIAL AND RESTRICTED TO THE MEMBERS OF THE WORKING GROUP, THE DAILY MANAGEMENT COMMITTEE AND THE MANAGEMENT COMMITTEE. THEY ARE STILL SUBJECT TO THE APPROVAL OF THE WORKING GROUP AND TO RATIFICATION BY THE WORKING GROUP AT ITS NEXT MEETING.

MINUTES OF THE FIRST MEETING OF WORKING GROUP 4 (THE FUTURE OF THE TBVC STATES) HELD AT THE WORLD TRADE CENTRE ON MONDAY 20 JANUARY 1992 AT 10H30

PRESENT: Delegates and advisers (see Addendum A)

Dr F Mdlalose (chair)

S Albertyn (Secretary)
G Hutchings (minutes)

1. Convenor's opening remarks

- 1.1 Delegates and advisers were introduced by Dr. Mdlalose, the Convenor.
- 1.2 It was noted that some parties did not receive material until the evening before the meeting while others received the material during the meeting of 20 January 1992.
- 1.3 The meeting agreed that it needed to discuss approach to work and a programme according to which it will function between now and next meeting on 6 February.

2. Press statements

- 2.1 It was agreed that DMC should issue a press statement in respect of today's meetings.
- 2.2 For future press statements, guidelines should be formulated by the DMC.

Adjournment

3.1 Participating organisations adjourned to meet and discuss the guidelines and rules. The meeting reconvened at 11h30.

4. Agenda

- 4.1 The agenda was proposed by the Convenor and adopted by the meeting.
- 5. Terms of Reference, Guidelines and Additional Guidelines
 - 5.1 The following documents were read out:
 - 5.1.1 Terms of Reference for Working Group 4 (Addendum C4)
 5.1.2 Guidelines for Chairpersons of Working Groups (Addendum F)
 5.1.3 Additional Guidelines for Chairpersons of Working Groups

Oral submissions by interested groups

6.1 It was agreed that oral submissions should be avoided or minimised.

Research

- 7.1 It was agreed that research will be necessary and that mechanisms for how research is to be carried out are still to be discussed by the Working Group Steering Committee (WGSC) which will be established by the Working Group.
- 7.2 Proposals for organisations to be approached can be submitted by Working Group members to the WGSC.
- 7.3 It was agreed that SECOSAF could be one of the sources of information asked to assist with information but that additional sources would have to be used.

Adjournment

8.1 The meeting adjourned for lunch at 13h00 and reconvened at 14h00.

9. Working Group Steering Committee (WGSC)

- 9.1 It was agreed that the Chairperson should be drawn from the WGSC and rotated.
- 9.2 There was consensus that the WGSC should consist of 8 people.
- 9.3 It was agreed by consensus that each participating organisation would nominate the names of 8 participating organisations and submit these to the Convenor. Nominations would remain secret. The Convenor would count the votes with the help of the Minute-Secretaries. Organisations would then give the names of the individuals who would represent them.
- 9.4 The Convenor stressed the importance of reaching consensus on this method of appointment of the WGSC.
- 9.5 It was agreed to extend the number on the WGSC to 9 members so as to include the Ciskei government.
- 9.6 The following are the members of the WGSC:

Ms SN Sigcau - Transkei

Mr SE Moeti - Venda

Mr M Phosa - ANC

Dr FT Mdlalose - IFP

Mr BE Keikelame - Bophuthatswana

Mr J Matsana - INM

Mr RF Botha - SA Government

Mr. N. Nogcantsi - Ciskei

Mr T Abrahams - Labour Party

10. Dates of Working Group meetings

10.1 It was agreed that the Working Group meet on 6 February; then on Monday 10 February; and then on every Monday thereafter.

11. Agenda

11.1 The agenda will be decided by the WGSC for each Working Group meeting.

12. Minutes

- 12.1 Minutes will be drafted by the two Minute-Secretaries and sent to the members of the WGSC for comment. Thereafter, a copy of the minutes will be sent to each participating organisation.
- 12.2 It was noted that the minutes to be sent are under embargo and are only a draft. The minutes can only be confirmed at the next meeting of the Working Group.

13. Tasks of the WGSC

13.1 The WGSC is to facilitate the functioning of the Working Group through the provision of information, co-ordination, and so on.

14. Programme of work of the Working Group

14.1 The WGSC is to propose a programme of work to the Working Group meeting on 6 February.

15. Closure

- 15.1 The Convenor then closed the meeting asking the WGSC to remain behind to decide when it would meet prior to 6th February.
- 15.2 Working Group members were asked to leave name tags for the Administration.

Addendum A

The following persons attended:

Organisation	Delegate	Adviser
ANC	A Nzo	B Mabandla
The second secon	M Phosa	A Omar
Bophuthatswana Govt	B Keikelame	J Tlholoe
201141111111111111111111111111111111111	S Seane	D Schoeman
Ciskei Govt	N Nogcantsi	
	B Tokata	
Democratic Party	J Jordaan	N Olivier
	E Moorcroft	G Simkins
Dikwankwetla Party	S Manyane	D Thejane
	S Matla	M Molapo
Inkatha Freedom Party	F Mdlalose	B Anderson
	V Zulu	N Ngubane
Intando Yesizwe Party	J Mahlangu	W Mohapi
	J Mabena	M Mahlangu
Inyandza Nat Movement	D Mkhwanazi	J Mahlalela
	J Matsana	N Mokoena
Labour Party	T Abrahams	W Whyte
	J Douw	V Hardy
NIC/TIC	N Patel	M Aziz
	Y Carrim	J Yawitch
National Party	J Mentz	A Julies
	P Farrell	R Radue
National People's Party	M Govender	S Naidoo
	L Dwarkapersad	R Panday
Solidarity Party	M Cassim	D Bagwandeen
	G Naidoo	Y Seedat
SACP	T Mtintso	L Nyembe
	S Mufamadi	S Ngonyama
SA Govt	A Meyer	N van Heerden
	R Botha	G Croeser
Transkei Govt	S Sigcau	L Bengu
	M Titus	S Matebese
United People's Front	N Malekane	E Maponya
	L Mokoena	J Nonyane
Venda Govt	S Makhuvha	N Nefale
	S Moeti	R Sumbana
Ximoko Progressive Party		W Kleynhans
	C Khosa	
The following did not con	nplete registration forms:	
Bophuthatswana Gvt	S Seane	
Inkatha Freedom Party	F Mdlalose	
	v Zulu	

WRKGROUP\FUTTBVC\MIN.JAN (2)

Intando Yesizwe Pty J M

J Mahlangu

J Mabena

NIC/TIC

J Yawitch