

PROPOSED AGENDA FOR THE THIRD MEETING OF CODESA WORKING GROUP 3 TO BE HELD ON TUESDAY 11 FEBRUARY 1992, 10H00 - 16H45, AT THE WORLD TRADE CENTRE

- 1. Opening of the Meeting and Welcome
- 2. Apologies
- 3. Ratification of the Minutes of the Second Meeting
- 4. Adoption of the Agenda
- Continuation of the exploratory discussion on the principles and issues involved in interim arrangements (delegations will be given the opportunity to make contributions of hopefully, no more than ten minutes each)
- 6. Confirmation of dates and chairperson for next meetings
- 7. Other urgent business
- 8. Closure



THESE ARE MINUTES OF CODESA WORKING GROUP 3 AS APPROVED BY THE CHAIR AND RATIFIED BY THE WORKING GROUP. THEY ARE CONFIDENTIAL AND RESTRICTED TO THE MEMBERS OF THE WORKING GROUP, THE DAILY MANAGEMENT COMMITTEE AND THE MANAGEMENT COMMITTEE.

MINUTES OF THE THIRD MEETING OF WORKING GROUP 3 (INTERIM ARRANGEMENTS) HELD AT THE WORLD TRADE CENTRE, JOHANNESBURG ON TUESDAY 11 FEBRUARY 1992 10H00 - 16H45.

PRESENT:

Delegates and advisers (see Addendum A)

- K Andrew (chair)
- C Coleman (secretary)
- K Kweyama-Makgabo (minute-taker)
- P Kleynhans (rapporteur)
- T Madiba (rapporteur)

1. OPENING AND WELCOME

K Andrew opened the meeting at 10H05

2. APOLOGIES

The Bophutatswana delegation sent apologies. Only one adviser was able to be present at the meeting.

3. CONTINUATION OF EXPLORATORY DISCUSSION

The following representatives of political parties presented their delegations view of interim arrangements:

African National Congress - T Mbeki Ciskei Government - HJS Kayser Dikwankwetla Party - RH Mopeli Intando Yesizwe Party - NJ Mahlangu Inyandza National Movement - PMH Maduna National Peoples Party - A Rajbansi Solidarity Party - A Arbee South African Government - BJ du Plessis United Peoples Party - E Mapheto Venda Government - Rev. Khorombi Ximoko Progressive Party - AE Nkondo

k.a

RATIFICATION OF MINUTES

The following changes were made to the minutes as tabled for ratification:

- 4.1.1
- The section should now read "It was proposed that the chair should be accompanied by an additional member of the WGSC3 to meetings with DMC when necessary." The section should now read "It was agreed to appoint P Kleynhans (SA Govt) and T Madiba (Transkei Gov) as rapporteurs. The WGSC could, however, augment those by appointing additional rapporteurs to the WG 3" 4.4.2
- The section should now read "Rapporteurs would send by facsimile draft summaries 4.4.5 of the inputs by political parties to those parties for comment to be conveyed to the rapporteurs within 48 hours of receiving the draft."

CONFIRMATION OF DATES AND CHAIRPERSON FOR THE NEXT MEETING 5.

- The next WG 3 meeting will be held on Monday 17 February 1992 at 10H00 to end 5.1 no later than 16H45 at the World Trade Centre. The meeting thereafter would be Monday 24 February 1992 at 10H00. There will be no meetings of Working Group 3 on Tuesdays for the next fortnight.
- The issue of a chairperson for the next meeting was referred to WGSC3 for decision. 5.2

OTHER URGENT BUSINESS 6.

6.1 **SUBMISSIONS**

- Concern was raised that the Media Conference held after the meeting of 10 6.1.1 February did not deal adequately with the publicity of inviting submissions. The WG was informed that the DMC would assess the impact of the Media conference at its meeting on 17 February and thereafter additional steps taken if deemed necessary.
- Delegations were reminded that they were not obliged to give written submissions and that they were welcome to participate in discussions even if they did not wish to table written proposals.

 The rapporteurs were urged to make use of the Terms of Reference of WG 6.1.2
- 6.1.33 when preparing reports.

CLOSURE 7.

The meeting closed at 13H05.

LIST OF DELEGATES AND ADVISERS PRESENT AT THIRD MEETING OF WORKING GROUP ${\bf 3}$

Organisation	Delegate	Adviser
ANC	T Mbeki	J Netshitenzhe
	J Nhlanhla	A Chaskalson
Bophutatswana Government		MI Menong
Ciskei Government	HJS Kayser	M Gaca
Cisker Government	SV Notshe	AC Cilliers
Democratic Party	RV Carlisle	H Zille
	G Erasmus	RJ Lorimer
Dikwankwetla Party	RH Mopeli	M Moroke
	BS Rajuili	LJ Mosuhli
Inkatha Freedom Party	M Myeni	S Vos
	VB Ndlovu	
Intando Yesizwe Party	NJ Mahlangu	NT Mtsweni
	MP Mahlangu	JB Sibanyoni
Inyandza National Movement	PMH Maduna	JH Mlambo
		MV Nelani
Labour Party	P Hendrickse	R O'Reilly
	L Landers	CJG Leander
NIC\TIC	PG Gorhan	I Pillay
		S Patel
National Party	D de Villiers	N Koornhof
	R Meyer	F van Deventer
National People's Party	A Rajbansi	E Joosab
	K Panday	M Govender
Solidarity Party	A Arbee	M Jajbhay
	K Rajoo	M Naidoo
South African Communist Party	J Cronin	J Ngculu
	N Madlala	
South African Government	BJ du Plessis	JJ Noeth
	J Scheepers	Gc von Bratt
Transkei Government	LL Mtshizana	M Njisane
	JT Madiba	D Ndawonde
United People's Party	E Mapheto	MM Makgaleng
	KA Mariri	M Bopape
Venda Government	KB Magwaba	S Mahada
	Rev. Khorombi	Rev. Rabali
Ximoko Progressive Party	ML Nkuna	EPS Mahlahle
	AE Nkondo	Adv. HF Junod
	112 1	

t.a