

MINUTES OF THE NINTH MEETING OF WORKING GROUP 2 (CONSTITUTIONAL PRINCIPLES) HELD AT THE WORLD TRADE CENTRE ON MONDAY, 30 MARCH 1992 AND TUESDAY 31 MARCH 1992

(Adopted at the Working Group 2 Meeting held on 7 April 1992)

PRESENT:

Delegates and advisors (See Addendum A) Adv Holomisa (Chair) MJ Mahlangu (Chair) M Phillips (Secretary) R Hartley (Minutes)

DOCUMENTS DISTRIBUTED:

- 1. Draft agenda
- 2. Ratified minutes of the seventh meeting of Working Group 2 held on 9.2.92
- 3. Draft minutes of the eighth meeting of Working Group 2 held on 23.3.92 and 24.3.92
- 4. Working Group 2: Constitution-making body/process (Venda Government 30.3.92)
- 5. Dikwankwetla Party: Standpoint on constitution making body
- 6. Statement by the Government on proposed transitional arrangements
- 7. Working Group 2 ANC proposals 31.3.92: Body and procedures for drafting a new constitution
- 8. Views on a constitution-making body tabled by the SA Government at Codesa Working Group 2
- 9. Statement by the Government on proposed transitional arrangements
- 10. Document 1: Submissions to Working Group 2 from non-Codesa organisations and individuals
- 11. Document 2: Summary of substantive submissions to Working Group 2 from non-Codesa organisations and individuals
- 12. TIC/NIC submissions to Codesa: Constitutionalism, minorities and power sharing

CONVENTION FOR A DEMOCRATIC SOUTH AFRICA

WORKING GROUP 2\MINUTES\30,31 MARCH

Apologies 30.3.92

1.

C Ramaphosa

HM Neerahoo

J Rabie

MJ Mahlangu C Albertyn Adv Mushasha Z Yacoob

PZ Ndamase

S Cloete

B Ndzimande

Apologies 31.3.92

J Rabie

SG Mothibe R Cronje I Findlay P Ndamase

I Omar K Reddy C Ramaphosa

BS Ngubane Z Yacoob

I Omar B Ndzimande

Adv Mushasha D Worrall African National Congress (Alternate: A Sachs) National People's Party (Alternate: B Jayraj) National Party (Alternate: S Camerer) United People's Front Inyandza National Movement Venda Government NIC/TIC (Alternate: T Pillay) Transkei Government (Alternate: M Nonkonyana) Ximoko Progressive Party (Alternate: SLE Mgimeti) SA Communist Party (Alternate: E Daniels)

Natio	nal Party
	mate: S Camerer)
•	utatswana Government
(Alter	rnate: TE Scheepers)
Trans	skei Government
(Alter	rnate: M Nonkonyana)
Solid	arity Party
(Alte	rnates: N Singh, K Reddy)
Afric	an National Congress
(Alte	rnate: A Sachs)
IFP	
NIC/	TIC
(Alte	rnate: T Pillay)
Solid	arity
SA C	Communist Party
(Alte	mate: E Daniels)
Vend	a Government
Dem	ocratic Party
	mate: A Leon)

2. Ratification of Agenda

- 2.1 The agenda was ratified with the following change:
 - 2.1.1 Item 6.1 "Progress with Public Submissions" was moved forward on the agenda to Item 3B.

3A. Ratification of Minutes

- 3.1 The minutes of the meeting of 9.3.92 were ratified with the following changes:
 - 3.1.1 The spelling of M Nonkonyana was corrected under Item 1.
 - 3.1.2 Item 2.1.3 was amended to read: "The ANC proposed that the issue of the reported impending execution of death row prisoners be placed on the agenda. Discussion was suspended pending a possible agreement on the issue in Working Group 1."
 - 3.1.3 Mr Mabuza pointed out that he and Mr Lephoko had attended the meeting of 23.3.92.
 - 3.1.4 Mr Nokonyana pointed out that he had attended the meeting on 23.3.92 and 24.3.92.
 - 3.1.5 The spelling of GM Ligege was corrected in Addendum A.

3B. Progress with Public Submissions

3B.1 Dr Delport spoke on two documents relating to public submissions to the Working Group. The documents are listed as documents 7 and 8 in the list of documents. Dr Delport pointed out that the documents constituted interim summaries of those submissions received by 2.3.92. a final summary of issues raised by public submissions will be prepared by the Steering Committee and tabled at a future meeting.

4. Discussion on Assignment 2: Constitution Making Body and Process

- 4.1 Delegates continued questioning the SA Government on their submission of 23.3.92 and 24.3.92.
- 4.2 The following parties made submissions on the issue:
 - 4.2.1 SA Government (repeat of submission on 23.3.92 and 24.3.92)
 - 4.2.2 Venda Government
 - 4.2.3 Dikwankwetla Party
 - 4.2.4 Labour Party
 - 4.1.5 African National Congress
 - 4.1.6 The meeting ended before questions to the African National Congress had been completed. It was agreed that questions would be continued at the next meeting.

5. Next Meeting

5.1 The next meeting will take place on 7.4.92 from 10h00 to 16h00 at the World Trade Centre.

WORKING GROUP 2\MINUTES\30,31 MARCH

ADDENDUM A

The following delegates and advisors signed the Attendance Register of Working Group 2 meeting held on 30 March 1992:

Organisation

•

. .

African National Congress

Bophutatswana Government

Ciskei Government

Democratic Party

Dikwankwetla Party

Inkatha Freedom Party

Intando Yesizwe Party

Inyandza National Movement

Labour Party

Delegate/Advisor

MV Moosa F Ginwala A Sachs

SG Mothibe TE Scheepers R Cronje

MC Kashe IJ Smuts J Laubuschagne VR Zietsman

CW Eglin AJ Leon D Welsh D Worrall

SOM Moji S Mopeli M Mopeli

N Brits SH Gumede BS Ngubane M Alachouzos

SJ Mgidi AP Laka MP Mahlangu IT Mahlangu

EN Ginindza I Lephoko BE Mabuza

D Lockey IM Richards G Devenish C Nasson J Scholtz

WORKING GROUP 2\MINUTES\30,31 MARCH

Natal/Transvaal Indian Congresses

National Party

ŝ,

National People's Party

Solidarity Party

SA Communist Party

SA Government

Transkei Government

United People's Front

Venda Government

Ximoko Progressive Party

T Pillay IC Meer F Haysom F Cachalia

F van Heerden S Camerer I Rautenbach

M Mohanlall S Ismail B Singh B Jayraj

DS Rajah I Omar K Reddy R Arenstein

J Slovo N Hoosain E Daniels

G Viljoen JT Delport F Venter JHE Basson

SP Holomisa R Nogumla DS Koyana M Nonkonyana

MC Ramusi KR Malatji RJ Dombo MP Pladi

GM Ligege MP Nthabalala A Budeli

EE Ngobeni KR Myakayaka SLE Mgimeti J Ackron

WORKING GROUP 2\MINUTES\30,31 MARCH

ADDENDUM A

The following delegates and advisors signed the Attendance Register of Working Group 2 meeting held on 31 March 1992:

Organisation

4

African National Congress

Bophutatswana Government

Ciskei Government

Democratic Party

Dikwankwetla Party

Inkatha Freedom Party

Intando Yesizwe Party

Inyandza National Movement

Labour Party

Natal/Transvaal Indian Congresses

National Party

Delegate/Advisor

MV Moosa A Sachs F Ginwala

TE Scheepers

MC Kashe IJ Smuts J Laubuschagne VR Zietsman

CW Eglin A Leon D Welsh

SOM Moji S Mopeli M Mopeli

N Brits SH Gumede M Alachouzos

SJ Mgidi AP Laka MP Mahlangu IT Mahlangu

C Albertyn EN Ginindza I Lephoko BE Mabuza

D Lockey IM Richards G Devenish C Nasson

T Pillay IC Meer F Haysom F Cachalia

F van Heerden

WORKING GROUP 2\MINUTES\30,31 MARCH

National People's Party

Solidarity Party

1

7 1

SA Communist Party

SA Government

Transkei Government

United People's Front

Venda Government

Ximoko Progressive Party

S Camerer I Rautenbach

M Mohanlall S Ismail B Singh B Jayraj

DS Rajah K Reddy R Arenstein N Singh

J Slovo N Hoosain E Daniels

G Viljoen JT Delport F Venter JHE Basson

SP Holomisa R Nogumla DS Koyana M Nonkonyana

MC Ramusi KR Malatji RJ Dombo MJ Mahlangu

GM Ligege MP Nthabalala A Budeli

EE Ngobeni KR Myakayaka SLE Mgimeti J Ackron