

# MINUTES OF THE TENTH MEETING OF WORKING GROUP 2 (CONSTITUTIONAL PRINCIPLES) HELD AT THE WORLD TRADE CENTRE ON TUESDAY 7 APRIL 1992

(Adopted at the Working Group 2 Meeting Held on 21 April 1992)

#### PRESENT:

Delegates and advisors (See Addendum A)
CW Eglin (Chair)
M Phillips (Secretary)
R Hartley (Minutes)

#### **DOCUMENTS DISTRIBUTED:**

- 1. Draft agenda
- 2. Ratified minutes of the eighth meeting of Working Group 2 held on 23.3.92 and 24.3.92
- 3. Draft minutes of the ninth meeting of Working Group 2 held on 30.3.92 and 31.3.92
- 4. 7.4.92 Working Group 2: Suggested discussion on constitution making body prepared by Working Group 2 Steering Committee
- 5. Labour Party of SA: The constitution making body
- 6. 6.4.92 Codesa Working Group 3: SA Government: Submission on transitional arrangements
- 7. Working Group 3: ANC proposals for the first stage of interim government
- 8. Inkatha Freedom Party: Working Group 2: Proposals of the Inkatha Freedom Party on the body and procedures for drafting a new constitution
- Inkatha Freedom Party: Why the Inkatha Freedom Party objects to the idea of the new constitution being written by a popularly elected assembly
- Codesa Working Group 2: Government of the Republic of Bophuthatswana: Constitution making and the constitution making process

## 1. Apologies 30.3.92

C Ramaphosa African National Congress

(Alternate: A Sachs)

J Rabie National Party

(Alternate: S Camerer)

Z Yacoob NIC/TIC

(Alternate: T Pillay)

PZ Ndamase Transkei Government

(Alternate: M Nonkonyana, Prof Koyana)

B Ndzimande SA Communist Party

(Alternate: E Daniels)

DS Rajah Solidarity Party

I Omar (Alternate: N Singh, K Moodley, R Arenstein)

M Richards Labour Party

(Prof Devenish)

A Leon Democratic Party
D Worrall (Alternate: D Welsh)

CW Eglin (in the chair)

R Cronje Bophuthatswana Government

SG Mothibe I Findlay

VR Zietsman
Adv Malatji

Ciskei Government
United People's Front
United People's Front

BS Ngubane Inkatha Freedom Party
B Singh National People's Party

(Alternate: J Bachu)

MM Makhalemele Dikwankwetla Party

(Alternate: Prof Wessels)

S Cloete Ximoko Progressive Party

(Alternate: EPP Mhinga)

SG Mgidi Intando Yesizwe Party

# 2. Ratification of Agenda

- 2.1 The agenda was ratified with the following changes:
  - 2.1.1 Item 5.6 which reads as follows was added: "The role of standing committees in the formulation of legislation."
  - 2.1.2 Item 6.2 was amended to read: "Item 4.4 of the Minutes of the Meeting of 2 March 1992: Further discussion of the common principle regarding the balance between central, regional and local government".

# 3. Ratification of Minutes

- 3.1 The minutes of the meeting of 9.3.92 were ratified with the following changes:
  - 3.1.1 D Worrall was added to the list of apologies for 31.3.92 and A Leon was listed as his alternate.

3.1.2 Item 3.1.3 was amended to read: "Mr Mabuza pointed out that he and Mr Lephoko had attended the meeting of 23.3.92."

# 4. Discussion on Assignment 2: Constitution Making Body and Process

- 4.1 Delegates continued questioning the ANC on their submission of 31.3.92.
- 4.2 The following parties made submissions on the issue:
  - 4.2.1 Bophuthatswana Government
  - 4.2.2 Inkatha Freedom Party
  - 4.2.3 The meeting ended before questions to the Inkatha Freedom Party could be completed. It was agreed that questions would be continued at the next meeting.
- 4.3 The chair posed the following questions as a useful means to take the discussion forward:
  - 4.3.1 "Based on the following assumptions regarding a Constitution Making Body:
    - 4.3.1.1 It is not a "sovereign" body, but a body established through legislation by the South African parliament;
    - 4.3.1.2 It is bound by the parameters of principles agreed to in Codesa including inter alia regionalism entrenched in the constitution and a Bill of Rights;
    - 4.3.1.3 It is bound to take decisions in terms of procedures agreed to in Codesa;
    - 4.3.1.4 Its decisions are subject to scrutiny by a panel of judges or neutral, independent persons to determine that these have been in accordance with the above;
    - 4.3.1.5 It would not necessarily be involved in legislative functions or procedures;
    - 4.3.1.6 The constitution it drafted would be subject to endorsement by popular referendum.

In these circumstances, in order to raise the level of legitimacy of a Constitution Making Body, would it be appropriate for the electoral principle to be applied in practice on the basis of regions? In view of the fact that regionality is a constitutional principle already agreed on, could a case be made for this regionality to be reflected in the composition of the constitution making body?"

## 5. Next Meeting

- 5.1 The next meeting will take place on 21.4.92 from 10h00 to 16h00 at the World Trade Centre.
- 5.2 It was agreed that Working Group 2 would also meet on 27.4.92 from 10h00 to 16h00 and on 28.4.92 from 9h00 to 15h00.

#### MIN0704.WP (7)

## WORKING GROUP 2\MINUTES\07 APRIL

#### ADDENDUM A

The following delegates and advisors signed the Attendance Register of Working Group 2 meeting held on 7 April 1992:

Organisation

Delegate/Advisor

African National Congress

MV Moosa F Ginwala A Sachs

Bophutatswana Government

TE Scheepers

Ciskei Government

MC Kashe
IJ Smuts

J Laubuschagne

Democratic Party

CW Eglin D Welsh

Dikwankwetla Party

SOM Moji S Mopeli M Mopeli Prof Wessels

Inkatha Freedom Party

N Brits SH Gumede M Alachouzos

Intando Yesizwe Party

AP Laka MP Mahlangu IT Mahlangu

Inyandza National Movement

EN Ginindza I Lephoko BE Mabuza C Albertyn

Labour Party

D Lockey
G Devenish
C Nasson

Natal/Transvaal Indian Congresses

T Pillay
IC Meer
F Haysom
F Cachalia

National Party

F van Heerden S Camerer I Rautenbach

#### MIN0704.WP (7)

# WORKING GROUP 2\MINUTES\07 APRIL

M Mohanlall National People's Party

S Ismail J Bachu H Neerahoo

K Moodley Solidarity Party

N Singh R Arenstein

J Slovo SA Communist Party

N Hoosain E Daniels

G Viljoen SA Government

JT Delport F Venter JHE Basson

SP Holomisa Transkei Government

R Nogumla DS Koyana M Nonkonyana

MC Ramusi United People's Front

**RJ** Dombo

GM Ligege Venda Government

MP Nthabalala A Budeli Adv Mushasha

EE Ngobeni Ximoko Progressive Party

KR Myakayaka **EPP Mhinga** J Ackron