

WRKGROUP\IMPLTIME\SG124FEB.WI (2)

WORKING GROUP 5\SUB GROUP 1\REPORT\24 FEBRUARY

Addendum C

THIS REPORT IS CONFIDENTIAL AND RESTRICTED TO THE MEMBERS OF THE WORKING GROUP, ITS STEERING COMMITTEE, THE DAILY MANAGEMENT COMMITTEE AND THE MANAGEMENT COMMITTEE.

(Adopted at the meeting of Working Group 5 dated 2 March, as amended)

REPORT FROM WORKING GROUP 5 SUB-GROUP 1, 24 FEBRUARY 1992

Acting secretary: AL Singh (National People's Party)

Consensus decisions

That:

- The meetings of the sub-group would be chaired as detailed in Addendum B. Mr JS Mabona accordingly took the chair for the first meeting.
- 2. The chairperson of the next meeting of the sub-group (Mr RR Hulley) would join Mr JS Mabona at the head of the table as assistant chairperson. This procedure would be adopted by rotation at future meetings.
- 3. Mr AL Singh would act as secretary at this first meeting.
- 4. Rapporteurs should be appointed as and when necessary.
- 5. The Terms of Reference of the sub-group should be amended as per Addendum
- 6. The sub-group should address specific key issues prioritised as follows:
 - 6.1 Process/transition timetable for negotiations:
 - * date for CODESA 2
 - * formation/duration of interim government
 - * lifting of sanctions
 - formation/duration of constituent assembly
 - * duration of transitional government
 - * TBVC states (referendum, incorporation)
 - * date of general elections
 - 6.2 Date/climate for negotiations/transition:
 - * end to violence
 - release of political prisoners
 - * return of exiles
 - * security forces (inclusive of all)
 - * control of media
 - * role of traditional leaders (including the King of the Zulus)
 - * private armies

CONVENTION FOR A DEMOCRATIC SOUTH AFRICA

WORKING GROUP 5\SUB GROUP 1\REPORT\24 FEBRUARY

- Delegates should study these key issues with a view to making inputs on suggested time-frames (preferably in writing) at the next meeting of the sub-group.
- 8. Regarding submissions from other Working Groups:
 - 8.1 Four task groups should be formed to analyse the minutes of Working Groups 1-4, with a view to making inputs.
 - 8.2 These task groups should be formed at the next meeting of the sub-group on Monday 2 March 1992.
- 9. The next meeting of the sub-group will take place on Monday 2 March 1992 at 08h30, finishing late if necessary.

Addendum A

TERMS OF REFERENCE OF SUB-GROUP 1 (MONITORING, IMPLEMENTATION AND TIME-FRAMES)

- To investigate and report upon all proposals with regard to appropriate time-frames and target completion dates for all of the processes and assignments being undertaken by CODESA, its Working Groups and other bodies created as a result of agreements/decisions of CODESA (Working Group 5 Terms of Reference Item 1.1.1).
- 2. To identify the key issues and problems that need to be addressed (Working Group 5 Terms of Reference Item 1.1.2).
- 3. To identify areas of commonality and aspects where agreement already exists between participating organisations (Working Group 5 Terms of Reference Item 1.1.3).
- Specifically, without vitiating the generality of the above, to consider whether and how to address:
 - 4.1 The practicability of setting target completion dates for all agreements/activities/decisions (Working Group Terms of Reference Item 1.1.4 'c').
 - 4.2 The monitoring of the process and the adjustment of targets whenever necessary (Working Group 5 Terms of Reference Item 1.1.4 'd').
 - 4.3 The practical effect of the implementation of agreements (Working Group 5 Terms of Reference Item 1.1.4 'i').
 - The co-ordination of the activities of CODESA and its subsidiary bodies to ensure the greatest possible efficiency of the process towards a democratic South Africa (Working Group 5 Terms of Reference Item 1.1.4 'b').
 - 4.5 The setting of realistically attainable time-frames (Working Group 5 Terms of Reference Item 1.1.4 'h').

WRKGROUP\IMPLTIME\SG124FEB.WI (2)

WORKING GROUP 5\SUB GROUP 1\REPORT\24 FEBRUARY

Addendum B

ORDER OF CHAIRPERSONS FOR SUBSEQUENT MEETINGS OF SUB-GROUP 1

1.	JS Mabona (IYP)	11.	AK Lukhaimane (Venda Govt)
2.	RR Hulley (DP)	12.	MN Poni (Ciskei Govt)
3.	C Carolus (ANC)	13.	MJ Duba (UPF)
4.	ST Leokaoke (Dikwankwetla)	14.	C Dlamini (SACP)
5.	GS Bartlett (NP)	15.	Y Moolla (Solidarity)
6.	O Ganie (NPP)	16.	MH Matjokana (XPP)
7.	TM Setiloane (Bop Govt)	17.	TR Jordaan (Inyandza)
8.	Y Bassier (LP)	18.	A Williams (SA Govt)
9.	FX Gasa (IFP)	19.	N Bebeza (Transkei Govt)
10	H Fhrehim (NIC/TIC)		