

WORKING GROUP 2\MINUTES\9 MARCH

## MINUTES OF THE SEVENTH MEETING OF WORKING GROUP 2 (CONSTITUTIONAL PRINCIPLES) HELD AT THE WORLD TRADE CENTRE ON MONDAY, 9 MARCH 1992

(Adopted at the Working Group 2 Meeting Held on 23/24 March 1992)

### PRESENT:

Delegates and advisors (See Addendum A) CW Eglin (Chair) M Phillips (Secretary) R Hartley (Minutes)

### **DOCUMENTS DISTRIBUTED:**

- 1. Draft agenda
- Draft minutes of the sixth meeting of Working Group 2 held on 9.3.92
- 3. Ratified minutes of the fifth meeting of Working Group 2 held on 24.2.92 and 25.2.92
- 9.3.92 Common principles regarding the balance between central, regional and local government agreed to at the meeting of Working Group 2 held on 2 March 1992
- 5. 9.3.92 Memo to all Working Groups: Letter from Transkei Government regarding SECOSAF
- 9.3.92 Draft principle on the meaningful participation of political minorities prepared by the Steering Committee for Working Group 2
- The meaningful participation of minorities: Precis of verbal submission by CW Eglin on behalf of the Democratic Party on 24.2.92
- 8. Labour Party of SA: The constitutional protection of minorities
- 9. Transkei government position paper: Meaningful participation of political minorities
- 10. Inkatha Freedom Party: The principle of the participation of political minorities
- 11. United People's Front: Meaningful participation of political minorities
- 12. Solidarity: Meaningful participation of political minorities: Revised submission to Working Group 2
- 13. 9.3.92 Proposed agreement to be minuted regarding the draft principle on minority political participation

### 1. Apologies

VR Zietsman MJ Mushasha Dr Delport Ciskei Government Venda Government SA Government

(Alternate: Dr Venter)

J Rabie

National Party

(Alternate: S Camerer) Dikwankwetla Party

SOM Moji Prof Cloete Chief Ndamase

Ximoko Progressive Party
Transkei Government

(Alternate: Prof Koyana)

R Cronje

Bophuthatswana Government

# 2. Ratification of Agenda

2.1 The agenda was ratified with no changes.

## 3. Ratification of Minutes

3.1 The draft minutes of the meeting of 2.3.92 were ratified with no changes.

# 4. Meaningful participation of political minorities

- 4.1 The following parties made submissions:
  - 4.1.1 Labour Party
  - 4.1.2 Transkei Government
  - 4.1.3 Inkatha Freedom Party
  - 4.1.4 United People's Front
- 4.2 The Working Group agreed on the following principle regarding the participation of political minorities:
  - 4.2.1 "A new constitution shall provide for effective participation of minority political parties consistent with democracy."
  - 4.2.2 The Working Group agreed on the following formulation with regard to the above principle:
    - 4.2.3 "The principle does not imply or reject:
      - 4.2.3.1 constitutional prescription for the participation of minority political parties in any executive structure of government;
      - 4.2.3.2 simple majoritarianism;
      - 4.2.3.3 veto powers by minority political parties on any issue."

# 5. Key Issues to be Addressed

5.1 <u>It was agreed</u> that the Steering Committee will prepare draft principles on the outstanding key issues to be addressed for presentation to future Working Group meetings.

### 6. Next Meeting

The next meeting of Working Group 2 will take place on Monday 23.3.92 from 10h00 to 16h30 and Tuesday 24.3.92 from 9h00 to 15h00.

# 7. Any Other Business

- 7.1 It was noted that 97 submissions had been received by Working Group 2 as of 2.3.92. A copy of each submission, together with an index of the submissions received had been prepared for each member of the Steering Committee. It was also noted that further submissions were still arriving and that these would be compiled for Steering Committee members at an appropriate time.
- 7.2 <u>It was agreed</u> that the Steering Committee would report to the next meeting of Working Group 2 on progress regarding submissions from the general public.

## ADDENDUM A

The following delegates and advisors signed the Attendance Register of Working Group 2 meeting held on 9 March 1992:

•	
Organisation	Delegate/Advisor
African National Congress	C Ramaphosa
	MV Moosa
	F Grinwala
	A Sachs
Bophutatswana Government	SG Mothibe
	TE Scheepers
Ciskei Government	MC Kashe
	IJ Smuts
	J Laubuschagne
Democratic Party	CW Eglin
	D Worrall
	AJ Leon
	D Welsh
Dikwankwetla Party	SOM Moji
	S Mopeli
	M Mopeli
Inkatha Freedom Party	N Brits
	SH Gumede
	BS Ngubane
Intando Yesizwe Party	SJ Mgidi
	AP Laka
	MP Mahlangu
	IT Mahlangu
Inyandza National Movement	C Albertyn
	I Lephoko
	BE Mabuza
	EN Ginindza
Labour Party	D Lockey
	IM Richards
	G Devenish
	C Nasson
Natal/Transvaal Indian Congresses	Z Yacoob
	IC Meer
	F Haysom

#### WORKING GROUP 2\MINUTES\9 MARCH

National Party F van Heerden

S Camerer

I Rautenbach

National People's Party M Mohanlall

S Ismail B Singh

H Neerahoo

Solidarity Party DS Rajah

I Omar

K Moodley

R Arenstein

SA Communist Party J Slovo

**B** Nzimande

N Hoosain

E Daniels

SA Government G Viljoen

JT Delport

F Venter

JHE Basson

Transkei Government S Holomisa

R Nogumla

DS Koyana

United People's Front MC Ramusi

KR Malatji

RJ Dombo

MJ Mahlangu

Venda Government GM Legege

MP Nthabalala

A Budeli

Ximoko Progressive Party EE Ngobeni

KR Myakayaka

EPP Mhinga

J Ackron