

THESE ARE DRAFT MINUTES AS APPROVED BY THE CHAIRPERSON. THEY ARE CONFIDENTIAL AND RESTRICTED TO THE MEMBERS OF THE WORKING GROUP, THE DAILY MANAGEMENT COMMITTEE AND THE MANAGEMENT COMMITTEE. THEY ARE SUBJECT TO RATIFICATION BY THE WORKING GROUP AT ITS NEXT MEETING.

MINUTES OF THE ELEVENTH MEETING OF WORKING GROUP 2 (CONSTITUTIONAL PRINCIPLES) HELD AT THE WORLD TRADE CENTRE ON TUESDAY 21 APRIL 1992

PRESENT:

Delegates and advisors (See Addendum A) M Richards (Chair) M Phillips (Secretary) R Hartley (Minutes)

DOCUMENTS DISTRIBUTED:

- Draft agenda 1.
- Ratified minutes of the ninth meeting of Working Group 2 held on 30.3.92 and 31.3.92 2.
- Draft minutes of the tenth meeting of Working Group 2 held on 7.4.92
- 21.4.92 Working Group 2: Suggested discussion on constitution making body prepared by Working 3. 4. Group 2 Steering Committee
- 8.4.92 Memorandum from the Daily Management Committee: Decision on the Media Sub-Committee 5.
- 8.4.92 Memorandum from the Daily Management Committee: Reportback to Codesa 2
- Inkatha Freedom Party Submission (Woodrow Wilson quote) 7.

1. Apologies 30.3.92

C Ramaphosa African National Congress

(Alternate: A Sachs)
Transkei Government

Adv Holomisa Transkei Government
Prof Koyana (Alternate: M Nonkonyana, X Mayisela)

M Richards

Labour Party (in the chair)

(Prof Devenish, LT Landers)

R Cronje (Prof Devenish, LT Landers)

Bophuthatswana Government

SG Mothibe

I Findlay

VR Zietsman

B Singh

H Neerahoo

I Lephoko

I Lephoko

Ciskei Government

National People's Party

(Alternate: A Rajbansi)

Inyandza National Movement

I Lephoko
N Haysom
Natal and Transvaal Indian Congress

Dr Venter South African Government

2. Ratification of Agenda

- 2.1 The agenda was ratified with the following changes:
 - 2.1.1 Item 3B "Codesa 2: Expectations and Progress Report" was added.
 - 2.1.2 Item 4.1 was amended to read "Further Questions to the IFP and Further Submissions".
 - 2.1.3 Item 6.1 was amended to read "Progress with Public Submissions and Oral Evidence".
 - 2.1.4 Item 5.6.3 "Power Sharing" was added.

3. Ratification of Minutes

- 3.1 The minutes of the meeting of 7.4.92 were ratified with the following changes:
 - 3.1.1 R Nogumla was removed from the list of apologies.

4. Discussion on Assignment 2: Constitution Making Body and Process

- 4.1 Delegates completed questioning the IFP on their submission of 7.4.92.
- 4.2 General Discussion of Key Issues with Reference to the Constitution Making Body
 - 4.2.1 <u>It was agreed</u> that the Steering Committee will meet on Monday 27 April to draw up a proposal for discussion to be presented at the next meeting.

5. Any Other Business

5.1 <u>It was agreed</u> that the secretariat would prepare a list for the Steering Committee of the common principles already agreed to and those yet to be discussed to facilitate the Steering Committee's work.

6. Next Meeting

5.1 The next meeting will take place on 28.4.92 from 10h00 to 16h00 at the World Trade Centre.

ADDENDUM A

The following delegates and advisors signed the Attendance Register of Working Group 2 meeting held on 21 April 1992:

Organisation	Delegate/Advisor
African National Congress	MV Moosa
	F Ginwala
	A Sachs
Bophutatswana Government	TE Scheepers
Ciskei Government	MC Kashe
	LJ Smuts
	J Labuschagne
Democratic Party	CW Eglin
Democratic 1 may	D Worrall
	A Leon
	D Welsh
Dikwankwetla Party	SOM Moji
Dikwank would I amy	S Mopeli
	M Mopeli
	Prof Wessels
Inkatha Freedom Party	N Brits
	SH Gumede
	M Alachouzos
	BS Ngubane
Intando Yesizwe Party	AP Laka
mando resizwo racy	SJ Mgidi
	MP Mahlangu
	IT Mahlangu
Inyandza National Movement	EN Ginindza
myanuza Manonar Ma	BE Mabuza
	C Albertyn
Labour Party	D Lockey
Labour 1 arty	G Devenish
	C Nasson
	IM Richards
	LT Landers
Natal/Transvaal Indian Congresses	IC Meer
110001 11000	Y Mohomed

F Cachalia

National Party F van Heerden

J Rabie S Camerer I Rautenbach

National People's Party M Mohanlall

S Ismail A Rajbansi H Neerahoo

Solidarity Party K Moodley

I Omar DS Rajah R Arenstein

SA Communist Party J Slovo

B Nzimande N Hoosain E Daniels

SA Government G Viljoen

JT Delport JHE Basson

Transkei Government R Nogumla XN Mayisela

M Nonkonyana

United People's Front MC Ramusi

RJ Dombo MJ Mahlangu Adv Malatji

Venda Government GM Ligege MP Nthabalala

A Budeli Adv Mushasha

Ximoko Progressive Party EE Ngobeni KR Myakayaka

EPP Mhinga
J Ackron