MINUTES OF THE SECOND MEETING OF WORKING GROUP 4 (THE FUTURE OF THE TBVC STATES) HELD AT THE WORLD TRADE CENTRE ON THURSDAY 6 FEBRUARY 1992 AT 10H50

### ADOPTED AT THE THIRD MEETING OF WORKING GROUP 4 ON MONDAY 10 FEBRUARY 1992

PRESENT:

Delegates and advisers (See Addendum A)

S Sigcau (chair)

S Albertyn (Secretary) G Hutchings (minutes)

APOLOGIES:

Labour Party Delegation

### 1. Chairperson's opening remarks

1.1 The Chairperson explained that she was chairing in the place of Dr Mdlalose for continuity, as Dr Mdlalose had been ill and unable to attend the Working Group Steering Committee 4 (WGSC 4) meeting of 27 January 1992.

#### 2. Minutes

- 2.1 The minutes of the first meeting of Working Group 4 (WG 4) were adopted with corrections.
- 2.2 It was noted that WGSC 4 minutes are submitted to the WG 4 for information only, not for adoption.

#### Agenda

- 3.1 The agenda for the WG 4 meeting of 6 February 1992 was drafted by the WGSC 4 on 27 January 1992.
- 3.2 It was agreed that at the next meeting of WG 4 on 10 February 1992, the issue of "Consensus" and the principle of reincorporation be discussed.

# 4. Reincorporation/Opening Statements

- 4.1 The Chairperson requested that the opening statements of, firstly, the TBVC States and the South African Government and secondly, by any other parties who wanted to state their positions, be made.
- 4.2 It was agreed that each party would just state their position on reincorportion and no discussion/debate would follow.
- 4.3 The submissions made were as follows:
  - 4.3.1 Transkei submission See Addendum B.
  - 4.3.2 Bophuthatswana submission See Addendum C.
  - 4.3.3 Venda submission See Addendum D.

- 4.3.4 Ciskei submission See Addendum E.
- 4.3.5 South African Government submission See Addendum F.
- 4.3.6 ANC submission See Addendum G.
- 4.3.7 IFP submission See Addendum H.
- 4.3.8 INM submission See Addendum I.
- 4.3.9 Democratic Party submission See Addendum J.
- 4.3.10 National Party submission See Addendum K.
- 4.3.11 Dikwankwetla Party submission See Addendum L.
- 4.3.12 SACP submission See Addendum M.
- 4.3.13 IYP submission See Addendum N.
- 4.3.14 NIC/TIC submission See Addendum O.
- 4.3.15 NPP submission See Addendum P.
- 4.3.16 UPF submission See Addendum Q.
- 4.3.17 Solidarity Party submission See Addendum R.
- 4.3.18 Ximoko Progressive Party submission See Addendum S. (This submission was made when the meeting reconvened after lunch.)

# Adjournment

The meeting adjourned for lunch at 13h15.

#### 6. Research

It was agreed that the question of research and the advertisements to be placed, could not be properly addressed until the debate on the opening statements on reincorporation had been completed. This debate is to be part of the agenda for the next WG 4 meeting on 10 February 1922.

# 7. Formation of sub-committees and discussion thereof

It was agreed that the formation of sub-committees should be delayed until the debate on the opening statements on the principle of reincorporation had been completed. This would equip WG 4 with the information necessary to form the necessary sub-committee's.

# 8. Frequency and dates of future meetings

It was agreed, in principle, that WG 4 would meet on Mondays and if necessary on Tuesdays. Guidance would be required on this point by the WGSC 4. A decision on whether it is necessary to meet on Tuesday 18 February 1992 will be made on the meeting of WG 4 on Monday 10 February 1992.

#### 9. Rapporteurs

It was suggested that the question of rapporteurs be delayed until the debate on the opening statements on reincorporation has been completed. It would then be clearer to WG 4 what type of persons are needed as rapporteurs. (The additional guidelines (Addendum C) were referred to with reference to what is expected of a rapporteur.)

# 10. Confirmation of next meeting of WG 4

It was confirmed that the next meeting of WG 4 will be on 10 February 1992 at 10h00 at the World Trade Centre.

#### 11. Closure

- 11.1 The Chairperson then closed the meeting.
- 11.2 Working Group members were asked to leave name tags for the Administration.

555-

# Addendum A

# The following persons attended:

Organisation	Delegate	Adviser
ANG	A Nzo	B Mabandla
ANC	M Phosa	A Omar
	(later substituted by A Omar)	
	(later substituted by A office)	
Bophuthatswana Govt	J Tlholoe	D Schoeman
	S Seane	
	N N	MF Sondiyazi
Ciskei Govt	N Nogcantsi	GE Godden
	B Tokata	OL Goddan
Democratic Party	J Jordaan	N Olivier
	E Moorcroft	G Simkins
	2	
Dikwankwetla Party	S Manyane	D Thejane
	S Matla	M Molapo
	T Milleless	B Anderson
Inkatha Freedom Party	F Mdlalose	N Ngubane
	V Zulu	14 14 gubano
Intando Yesizwe Party	J Mahlangu	W Mohapi
	J Mabena	M Mahlangu
		J Mahlalela
Inyandza Nat Movement	DZ Mkhwanazi	N Mokoena
	J Matsana	N MOKOGIA
I day Destra	T Abrahams	W Whyte
Labour Party	J Douw	V Hardy
	, 204"	
NIC/TIC	P David	J Yawitch
	NG Patel	Y Carrim
		A Julies
National Party	J Mentz	R Radue
	P Farrell	K Kadue
Mational Doorla's Doorty	D Governder	S Naidoo
National People's Party	L Dwarkapersad	RC Panday
	2 Duranguna	
Solidarity Party	M Cassim	D Bagwandeen
	G Naidoo	Y Seedat
		I Nyamba
SACP	T Mtintso	L Nyembe
	S Mufamadi	S Ngonyama
SA Govt	A Meyer	G Croeser
	(later substituted by	R Burton
	D Auret)	
	RS Schoeman (Substitute for	
	RF Botha)	
	AL DOMAN	

#### MIN0602.WS (4)

Transkei Govt S Sigcau L Bengu S Matebese

United People's Front N Malekane E Maponya L Mokoena J Nonyane

Venda Govt S Makhuvha N Nefale R Sumbana

Ximoko Progressive Party C Marivate W Kleynhans

C Khosa