MIN2104.WP (7)
WORKING GROUP 2\MINUTES\21 APRIL

MINUTES OF THE ELEVENTH MEETING OF WORKING GROUP 2 (CONSTITUTIONAL PRINCIPLES) HELD AT THE WORLD TRADE CENTRE ON TUESDAY 21 APRIL 1992

(Adopted at the Working Group 2 Meeting held on 28 April 1992)

PRESENT:

Delegates and advisors (See Addendum A)
M Richards (Chair)
M Phillips (Secretary)
R Hartley (Minutes)

DOCUMENTS DISTRIBUTED:

- 1. Draft agenda
- 2. Ratified minutes of the ninth meeting of Working Group 2 held on 30.3.92 and 31.3.92
- 3. Draft minutes of the tenth meeting of Working Group 2 held on 7.4.92
- 4. 21.4.92 Working Group 2: Suggested discussion on constitution making body prepared by Working Group 2 Steering Committee
- 5. 8.4.92 Memorandum from the Daily Management Committee: Decision on the Media Sub-Committee
- 6. 8.4.92 Memorandum from the Daily Management Committee: Reportback to Codesa 2
- 7. Inkatha Freedom Party Submission (Woodrow Wilson quote)

1. Apologies 30.3.92

C Ramaphosa African National Congress

(Alternate: A Sachs)

Adv Holomisa

Transkei Government

PZ Ndamase

Prof Koyana (Alternate: M Nonkonyana, X Mayisela)

M Richards Labour Party (in the chair)

(Prof Devenish, LT Landers) Bophuthatswana Government

R Cronje SG Mothibe

SG Mothibe

I Findlay

VR Zietsman Ciskei Government
B Singh National People's Party

(Alternate: N Rajaram)

H Neerahoo (Alternate: A Rajbansi)
I Lephoko Inyandza National Movement

N Haysom Natal and Transvaal Indian Congress

Dr Venter South African Government

2. Ratification of Agenda

- 2.1 The agenda was ratified with the following changes:
 - 2.1.1 Item 3B "Codesa 2: Expectations and Progress Report" was added.
 - 2.1.2 Item 4.1 was amended to read "Further Questions to the IFP and Further Submissions".
 - 2.1.3 Item 6.1 was amended to read "Progress with Public Submissions and Oral Evidence".
 - 2.1.4 Item 5.6.3 "Power Sharing" was added.

3. Ratification of Minutes

- 3.1 The minutes of the meeting of 7.4.92 were ratified with the following changes:
 - 3.1.1 R Nogumla was removed from the list of apologies.

4. Discussion on Assignment 2: Constitution Making Body and Process

- 4.1 Delegates completed questioning the IFP on their submission of 7.4.92.
- 4.2 General Discussion of Key Issues with Reference to the Constitution Making Body
 - 4.2.1 <u>It was agreed</u> that the Steering Committee will meet on Monday 27 April to draw up a proposal for discussion to be presented at the next meeting.

5. Any Other Business

- 5.1 <u>It was agreed</u> that the secretariat would prepare a list for the Steering Committee of the common principles already agreed to and those yet to be discussed to facilitate the Steering Committee's work.
- 5.2 <u>It was agreed</u> following a joint meeting of the Steering Committees of Working Groups 2 and 3 that regular joint meetings of the Steering Committees for Working Groups 2 and 3 should take place, and that the possibility of a joint meeting of Working Groups 2 and 3 should be kept open.

6. Next Meeting

5.1 The next meeting will take place on 28.4.92 from 10h00 to 16h00 at the World Trade Centre.

ADDENDUM A

The following delegates and advisors signed the Attendance Register of Working Group 2 meeting held on 21 April 1992:

Organisation	Delegate/Advisor
African National Congress	MV Moosa
	F Ginwala
	A Sachs
Bophutatswana Government	TE Scheepers
Ciskei Government	MC Kashe
	IJ Smuts
	J Labuschagne
Democratic Party	CW Eglin
	D Worrall
	A Leon
	D Welsh
Dikwankwetla Party	SOM Moji
	S Mopeli
	M Mopeli
	Prof Wessels
Inkatha Freedom Party	N Brits
	SH Gumede
	M Alachouzos
	BS Ngubane
Intando Yesizwe Party	AP Laka
	SJ Mgidi
	MP Mahlangu
	IT Mahlangu
Inyandza National Movement	EN Ginindza
	BE Mabuza
	C Albertyn
Labour Party	D Lockey

WORKING GROUP 2\MINUTES\21 APRIL

G Devenish C Nasson IM Richards LT Landers

Natal/Transvaal Indian Congresses

IC Meer Y Mohomed F Cachalia

National Party

F van Heerden J Rabie S Camerer I Rautenbach

National People's Party

M Mohanlall S Ismail A Rajbansi H Neerahoo N Rajaram

Solidarity Party

K Moodley I Omar DS Rajah R Arenstein

SA Communist Party

J Slovo B Nzimande N Hoosain E Daniels

SA Government

G Viljoen
JT Delport
JHE Basson

Transkei Government

R Nogumla XN Mayisela M Nonkonyana

United People's Front

RJ Dombo MJ Mahlangu Adv Malatji

MC Ramusi

Venda Government

GM Ligege MP Nthabalala A Budeli Adv Mushasha

Ximoko Progressive Party

EE Ngobeni KR Myakayaka EPP Mhinga J Ackron