WORKING GROUP 4 SUB GROUP 2\MINUTES\24 FEBRUARY

THESE ARE MINUTES, AS APPROVED BY THE CHAIRPERSON. THEY ARE CONFIDENTIAL AND RESTRICTED TO THE MEMBERS OF THE SUB-GROUP 2, THE WORKING GROUP, THE DAILY MANAGEMENT COMMITTEE AND THE MANAGEMENT COMMITTEE.

MINUTES OF SUBGROUP TWO (CITIZENSHIP), WORKING GROUP FOUR (FUTURE OF THE TBVC STATES) HELD AT THE WORLD TRADE CENTRE ON MONDAY 24 FEBRUARY 1992 AT 14h45.

ADOPTED BY SUB-GROUP 2 AT THE MEETING OF 2 MARCH 1992

PRESENT: Delegates and Advisers (See Addendum A)

CTD Marivate (chair)

P Mafojane (minutes)

APOLOGIES: FT Mdlalose

1. Chairperson's opening remarks

Delegates were welcomed by the chairperson. The agenda was read out and confirmed.

2. Minutes

The minutes of the first subgroup two (WG 4) held on 18 February 1992 were adopted with the following changes:

2.1 - 3.1 reads as follows:

"That it was agreed that the Declaration of Intent and the Terms of Reference of WG4 be used as guidelines for resolving the question of citizenship."

2.2 - 5. The views of TBVC states and the RSA and other parties.

2.3 - 5.4 becomes 5.5.

2.4 - the new 5.4 is as follows:

"that reincorporation is dependent on the will of the people being democratically tested".

2.5 - that the statement on consensus: 7.2 be deleted as it did not form part of the minutes.

3. Matters arising

Agreed that the TBVC states and RSA expedite matters with regard to the information relating to the requirements of citizenship in their respective countries.

4. Rapporteurs

Rapporteurs: The names of Geoff Budlender and Marius Rezelman were proposed. The chairperson and the proposers would decide on who to choose.

5. Citizenship

It was agreed that discussion on citizenship in the TBVC states be reopened on Monday 2 March 1992.

6. Future Meetings

The next Sub-committee 2 meeting will be held on Monday 2 March 1992 at 9h00.

7. Closure

The chairperson closed the meeting at 18h00.

ElDharwate

WG4SG2\MINS2402.WS (5)

WORKING GROUP 4 SUB GROUP 2\MINUTES\24 FEBRUARY

ADDENDUM A

The following delegates and advisers were present at the meeting of Working Group 4, Sub Group 2 held on 24 February 1992:

Organisation	Delegate
ANC	D Omar
Bophutswana Government	B Keikelame
Ciskei Government	R B Tokota
Democratic Party	J A Jordaan
Dikwankwetla Party	S P Matla
Intando Yesizwe Party	W Mohapi
Inyandza National Movement	D Makhube
Labour Party of SA	S Verveen
National Party	J H L Mentz
NPP	S Naidoo
NIC/TIC	B Mabandla
SACP	T Mtintso
SA Government	R S Schoeman
Solidarity Party	N F Cassim
Transkei Government	S H L Matabese
UPF	L M Mokoena
Venda Government	S R Makhuvha
Ximoko Progressive Party	C T D Marivate