

TO : ALL MEMBERS OF THE MANAGEMENT COMMITTEE

FROM : CODESA ADMINISTRATION

RE : PROGRESS REPORT BY SUB-COMMITTEE 4 TO THE MC

PLEASE NOTE - IF THE FAX NUMBER BEING USED BELOW IS NOT CORRECT, KINDLY ADVISE US OF THE CORRECT NUMBER AS SOON AS POSSIBLE!

ANC		
<u> </u>	-333-4509	
	-333-4509	
	1505	
BOPHUTHATSWANA GOVERNMENT		
R Cronje 014	0-84-2943 or 84-2733	
S G Mothibe 014	0-84-2406	
T Scheepers 014	0-89-5103	
CICKET COMPONENT		
CISKEI GOVERNMENT		
	1-95-1205	
	1-95-1205	
G r Godden 040	1-95-1282	
DEMOCRATIC PARTY		
	-461-0092	
	-461-0092 -461-0092	
	-461-5276	
021	-401-5276	
DIKWANKEWTLA PARTY		
T J Mohapi 014	38-30318	
S O M Moji 014	38-31218	
	38-36306	
INKATHA FREEDOM PARTY		
	8-20-2470	
	8-20-2470	
S Felgate 0358	8-20-2167	
INTANDO YESIZWE PARTY		
	15-2201	
	15-2391 15-2548	
	-807-1777	
	307 1777	
INYANDZE NATIONAL MOVEMENT		
S S Ripinga 0131	14-72453	
T J Ndaba c/o S Ripinga 0131	14-72453	
	14-72453	
LABOUR PARTY		
	-45-1953	
	-45-1953	
T Potgieter 021-	-45-1953	

NIC/TIC P J Gordhan C Salojee Y Jacoob F M Meer	031-309-2278 011-836-5659 031-306-8429 031-309-5732
NATIONAL PARTY D de Villiers J T Delport J Scheepers	021-45-3216 021-461-0851 021-461-5302
NATIONAL PEOPLE'S PARTY A Rajbansi E Joosab A K Bheesham c/o A Rajbansi	021-403-2971 021-461-7617 021-403-2971
SOLIDARITY PARTY J N Reddy K Moodley c/o J N Reddy A Arbee c/o J N Reddy	031-301-1077 or 021-461-7912 As above As above
S A COMMUNIST PARTY J Slovo S Shilowa G Fraser-Moleketi	011-836-8366 011-834-3008 011-836-8366
S A GOVERNMENT R Meyer H J Coetsee c/o J Jacobs L Wessels c/o J Jacobs	021-461-0851 and 012-341-1389 012-343-8043 012-343-8043
TRANSKEI GOVERNMENT Z Titus T T Matanzima L S Mpahlwa	0471-23876 0471-31-2307 0471-23876
UNITED PEOPLE'S FRONT M J Mahlangu c/o M C Ramusi M I Moroamoche c/o M C Ramusi M C Ramusi	01521-91-2528 01521-91-2528 01521-91-2528
VENDA GOVERNMENT S Makhuva S Moeti	0159-23172 0159-22971
XIMOKO PROGRESSIVE PARTY E E P Mhinga J C Ackron E E Ngobeni c/o J C Ackron	01526-23412 01526-23140 01526-23140
Also to :	
Rev K Reddy Solidarity Par M N Raju Solidarity Par	

Progress Report by Sub Committee 4 to the Management Committee to be presented at M.C. meeting scheduled for 15 June 1992 at 10.00hrs

The Steering Committee of Working Group 4 convened on 8 June 1992 under the Chairpersonship of Ms Stella Sigcau.

In addressing the mandate given to the WG SC.4 difficulty was experienced in addressing issues relating to:

- (a) planning a work schedule to complete the terms of reference alloted
- (b) establishing a modus operandi for the sub committee and
- (c) planning a schedule of meeting for the sub-committee.

The reason for not being successful in accomplishing these tasks was due to the fact that the M.C. had provided no guidelines to the time schedule between Codesa 2 and proposed Codesa 3.

The Sub Committee addressed the issue of Chairmanship of the Sub committee and resolved to adopt a process of a rotating Chairperson for 2 meetings in succession. It was also agreed that Ms S Sigcau would continue in the role of permanent reporter to the M C.

In regard to the issue relating to the reservations of Ciskei and Bop in relation to the WG's report to Codesa 2 it was resolved that the reservations expressed by Bop would be included in the report. In regard to Ciskei it was felt that the position had been rectified by the statement made by Brig Gqozo at Codesa 2 which had been fully recorded in the proceedings of Codesa 2.

Ciskei were also of the opinion that other sections of WG 4's report to Codesa 2 required re-drafting but Sub Committee 4 resolved to address these issues in the course of dealing with all outstanding issues falling within its terms of reference.

The Sub Committee also addressed the issue of land motivation imposed by Codesa. It was agreed that those issues relating to communities in terms of promises made or compensation for land taken away would be investigated and TBVC delegates were requested to supply details to the Sub Committee at its next meeting.

It was agreed that the Sub Committee would re-assemble on 17 June 1992 at 10.00hrs.

G F GODDEN

hubblicatur

DEPARTMENT OF THE COUNCIL OF STATE