1 APRIL 1993

DISCUSSION PAPER ON REGIONAL ADMINISTRATION IN THE TRANSITION PERIOD

1. REGIONS AND BOUNDARIES

There shall be four regions for the purpose of regional administration during the transition period, namely Natal, Transvaal, The Cape Province and the Orange Free State, with boundaries as created at the time of Union in 1910.

2. POWERS AND FUNCTIONS

The powers and functions of the said regions during the period of transition shall be as follows:

- 2.1 Regional administrations shall exercise concurrent powers with national government in respect of all matters allocated by national government subject to national government retaining overriding powers in all matters.
- 2.2 Regional administrations shall implement, and/or participate in the implementation of, laws and policies of national government.
- 2.3 Regional administrations shall effect the phasing out, and/or participate in the process of phasing out, as rapidly as possible but in an orderly manner presently existing regional structures and administrations as well as all apartheid based structures within the said regions.
- 2.4 Regional administrations shall ensure that all existing structures of administrations and services are rationalised and integrated into the said regions.

Jewenne

2.5 The principle upon which the division of powers and functions will be based, shall be the same as currently exists between the South African government and the present four provinces of Natal, Transvaal, Cape Province and OFS.

3. STRUCTURES OF ADMINISTRATION

3.1 EXECUTIVE COMMITTEE

There shall be established in each region an Executive Committee consisting of five to seven persons who shall be chosen by representatives of the region elected to the National Assembly, such persons to be drawn from political parties in proportion to the number of seats each party holds in the Constituent Assembly in respect of such region.

3.2 ADMINISTRATOR

Each region shall have an administrator who shall be appointed by simple majority by the Executive Committee. The Administrator shall act as Chair of the Executive Committee and its Chief Officer.

- 3.3 Executive Committee members may be removed/replaced by the said regional representatives provided that any replacement shall also be in accordance with the principle of proportionality.
- 3.4 The Administrator may be removed/replaced by the Executive Committee by simple majority.
- 4. The division of powers and functions between national government and regional administration in respect of the territories of the TBVC administrations shall be in line with the rest of South Africa, subject to such phasing in provisions as may have been determined by the Transitional Executive Council.

TRANSITION TO DEMOCRACY ACT OF 1992

ACT

To provide for a constitution-making body
to draw up and adopt a democratic constitution,
to provide for a transitional parliament,
transitional executive authority
and matters incidental thereto

Preamble

WHEREAS - it is recognised that South Africa shall be reconstituted as a united, non-racial, non-sexist, democratic country,

WHEREAS - in pursuance thereof it is necessary for a constitution-making body to be brought into being through democratic elections, for the convening of such body, its procedures, decision-making and time frames for the adoption of a new Constitution,

AND WHEREAS - to provide for government during the period from the date of completion of democratic elections aforesaid and the date of installation of the first government under a new Constitution,

AND to provide for matters incidental thereto.

NOW THEREFORE WE, THROUGH THIS, THE TRANSITION TO DEMOCRACY ACT, MAKE THE FOLLOWING PROVISIONS TO AMEND THE REPUBLIC OF SOUTH AFRICA ACT NO. 110 OF 1983

- 1. Act No. 110 of 1983 is amended as per the schedule attached hereto.
- 2. This Act shall come into force on 1 August 1992.

(1) Not ens job to revise a clean of 1108/1983.

Not to replace it with an interior consist.

Make such amends. recessary - c mb - draft
a new Constit.