

CODESA

FIRST PLENARY SESSION

20 and 21 DECEMBER 1991

Chairpersons' Guide

[Copy of Agenda in hands of delegates attached]

DAY ONE

15H45

16H15

Approximate times:

09H30	Participants to be seated
09H35	Photo session inside Convention Hall
10H00	1. Opening: Chief Justice MM Corbett
	2. Prayers: Harris, Rabbi Cyril K Heyns, Prof J A Mogoba, Rev Stanley Mohamed, Sheikh Nazim Napier, Bishop B Vedalanker, Pandit Nardev
10H35	3. Chief Justice hands over to Co-Chairpersons
10H40	4. Opening Remarks by Leaders of Delegations (Max. 15 mins each. Speaking at podium in order as per attached list)
12H30	LUNCH LUNCH 18 weallet Poin : 12 mi
14H00	Opening Remarks by Leaders of Delegations (continued)

TEA, COFFEE AND REFRESHMENTS

Opening Remarks by Leaders of Delegations (continued)

17H10 5. Adoption and Signing of the Declaration of Intent

- * Reading of the Declaration of Intent (co-chairpersons)
- * Signing of the Declaration of Intent by heads of delegations [Chairpersons request heads of delegations to come to the row of tables in front and sign the Declaration; order of signing is alphabetical according to organisations's names, with the SA Governmentlast)

18H30 WELCOMING FUNCTION (Cocktail hosted by co-chairpersons)

DAY TWO

09H00 6. Consideration of Standing Rules

- * Introduction of document at podium: Mr N J Mhlangu
- * Discussion and agreements:
 Panel (seated behind podium) to assist with clarification and explanation:
 Mr W Felgate (Chairperson of Task Groupon Drafting)
 Mrs X Gasa
 Dr F Venter
 Mr K Andrew
 Prof K Asmal
- 7. Terms of Reference and Formation of Working Groups
 - * Introduction of document in general and diffferent sections of document: Mr R Meyer/Mr C Ramaphosa/Dr Z De Beer
 - * Discussion and agreements:
 Panel (seated behind podium) to assist with clarification and explanation:
 Mr MJ Mahlangu (Chairperson of Task Groupon Process)
 Mr K Coetsee
 Mr D Omar
 Mr K Andrew
 Mr SG Mothibe

10H30 TEA, COFFEE AND REFRESHMENTS

11H00 Terms of Reference and Formation of Working Groups(continued)

- 8. The Way Forward: including
 - * Administration
 - * Starting date for working groups
 - * Next plenary meeting of CODESA
 - * Further participants at CODESA

Introduction: Dr P Maduna

Panel: Mr SS van der Merwe Mr M Maharaj

9. Closing: Chairpersons by way of closing remarks

SPEAKING ORDER OF DELEGATION LEADERS

Dr N Mandela - African National Congress

Dr L M Mangope - Bophutatswana Government

Brigadier O Z Qozo - Ciskei Government

Dr Z J de Beer - Democratic Party

Dr T K Mopeli - Dikwankwetla Party

Dr F T Mdlalose - Inkatha Freedom Party

Prince J S Mahlangu - Intando Yesizwe Party

Mr M C Zitha - Inyandza National Movement

Rev A Hendrickse - Labour Party of South Africa

Mr G Sewpershad - Natal Indian Congress/Transvaal Indian Congress

Dr D J de Villiers - National Party

Mr A Rajbansi - National People's Party

Dr J N Reddy - Solidarity Party of South Africa

Mr C Hani - South African Communist Party

Major General B Holomisa - Transkei Government

Mr M N Ramodike - United People's Front

Brigadier Ramushwana - Venda Government

Prof H W E Ntsanwisi - Ximoko Progressive Party

Pres F W de Klerk - RSA Government