

85 Field Street, Durban 4001 P.O. Box 1491, Durban 4000 Tel: (031) 324324 Telex 62301

February 20, 1992.

CODESA Secretariat P.O. Box 307 ISANDO 1600

Sir/Madam,

Thank you for your letter dated February 4, 1992, the contents of which have been noted.

We wish to assure you that this newspaper adopts an open-door policy and will fully co-operate with your organisation.

Please feel free to communicate with Mr. Brijlall Ramguthee (the Editor), Mr. Khalil Aniff (News Editor) and Ms Fawzia Moodley (Political Reporter) whenever the need arises.

We also wish to extend an invitation to the CODESA Secretariat and/or any representative from your organisation to visit our offices when in Durban.

Yours faithfully,

KHALIL ANIFF ASSISTANT EDITOR

Directors: L.E.A. Slater (Chairman), H.W. Miller (Managing Director), P.H. Anderson, Prof. G.R. Bozzoli, J.D. St. C. Hennessy, I.G. MacPherson, C.L.C. Hewitt, D.H. Stevenson, F.J.L. Wells Alternate Director: C. Carrington (British)

Make your suggestions to Codesa

CODESA is an important forum for finding a peaceful resolution to our country's problems and a way to a democratic South Africa.

By decision of the preparatory meeting which lauched Codesa, it was agreed that only bona fide political parties/organisations and administrations should be accorded full participant status.

At the same time the organisers of Codesa wish to encourage the greatest possible participation by all interest groups from every walk of life. Provision has been made for all interest groups to make submissions to the five Working Groups of Codesa in order that these are taken into account in the deliberations of the Working Groups.

We wish to take this opportunity to invite and encourage South African interest groups to make written submissions to the responsible Working Group on matters relevant to its Terms of Reference.

The five Working Groups established by Codesa 1 are:
Working Group 1: According to its Terms of Reference it will be dealing with the following two issues:
a) Creation of a climate for free political participation, and
b) The role of the international com-

Working Group 2: Which addresses:
a) General constitutional principles
b) Constitution making body/process.
Working Group 3: Which is required toaddress the issue of Transitional Arrangements/Interim Governments/Transitional Authority.
Working Group 4: Dealing with the
question of the future of the TVBC
States (ie, Transkei, Venda, Bophuthatswana, and Ciskei).

Working Group 5: Time Frames and the implementation of Codesa decisions.

The full Terms of Reference are for each Working Group available from the Secretariat of Codesa:
Tel: 011 397 1198
Fax: 011 397 2211
Address: World Trade Centre, Kempton Park
Postal Address: PO Box 307, Isando 1600
We would appreciate it if submissions reach us on or before March 2, 1992.
Codesa Secretariat



Khalil Aniff 85 Field St Durban 4001 26 /2/92

Dear Sir

We hereby acknowledge receipt of your letter dated 20/2/92.

Your keen interest in the processes of CODESA, exemplified through your letter is highly appreciated.

For your interest, we enclose a copy of the Declaration of Intent adopted at the Conference for a Democratic South Africa on 20/12/91 as well as the Terms of Reference of the five Working Groups.

Yours Sincerely

Murphy Morobe (Head: CODESA Administration)