ANNEXURE

1

SUMMARY OF DECISIONS TAKEN AT THE PREPARATORY MEETING OF CODESA HELD ON 29 AND 30 NOVEMBER 1991

[1]

- 1. Preparatory Meeting held at the Jan Smuts Holiday Inn, Johannesburg on 29-30 November 1991.
- 2. The following attended the Preparatory Meeting:
 - 3.1. African National Congress (ANC)
 - 3.2. Bophuthatswana Government
 - 3.3. Ciskei Government.
 - 3.4. Democratic Party (DP)
 - 3.5. Dikwankwetla (Qwaqwa)
 - 3.6. Inkatha Freedom Party (IFP)
 - 3.7. Intando Yesizwe Party (KwaNdebele)
 - 3.8. Inyandza National Movement (KaNgwane)
 - 3.9. National Party (NP)
 - 3.10 National People's Party (NPP)
 - 3.11 Natal Indian Congress Transvaal Indian Congress (NIC-TIC)
 - 3.12 Pan Africanist Congress (PAC)
 - 3.13 Solidarity Party (SP)
 - 3.14 South African Communist Party (SACP)
 - 3.15 South African Government
 - 3.16 Transkei Government
 - 3.17 United People's Front (UPF)
 - 3.18 Venda Government
 - 3.20 Ximoko Progressive Party (Gazankulu)

Towards the end of the proceedings the Pan Africanist Congress (PAC) withdrew from the meeting.

3. The meeting decided that the all-party process would be convened under the title "Convention for a Democratic South Africa" (CODESA). It was agreed that the first meeting of CODESA would take place on the 20-21 December 1991, to be held at the World Trade Centre, Kempton Park, Johannesburg.

- 4. The Agenda of CODESA would include:
 - 4.1 Creation of the climate for free political participation.
 - 4.2 General Constitutional principles
 - 4.3 Constitution making body/process
 - 4.4 Transitional arrangements/Interim Government/Transitional Authority.
 - 4.5 The future of the TVBC States (that is, the Transkei, Venda, Bophuthatswana and Ciskei which were created under Apartheid rule and established as "independant" States: explanatory note added by APC for purpose of this briefing).
 - 4.6 Role of the international community.
 - 4.7 Time frames with regard to all these processes.
 - 4.8 Implementation of decisions of CODESA.
 - 4.9 Other items to be identified by the Steering Committee and decided upon by CODESA.
- 5. The meeting decided that the original list of invitees to the Preparatory Meeting would be invited to the first meeting of CODESA; that each participating organisation would be entitled to a maximum of 12 delegates.
- 6. The Preparatory meeting established a Steering Committee comprising one person from each of the participating organisations. The Steering Committee is charged with the task of convening the first meeting of CODESA, as well as attend to outstanding items which featured on the agenda of the Preparatory Meeting, viz. funding of CODESA, administration, Standing Rules, Agenda for the first meeting of CODESA, press and media and other items. Mr Zac de Beer of the Democratic Party (DP) was elected to chair the Steering Committee.
- 7. It was further agreed that the following international organisations would be invited to attend the first meeting of CODESA as observers:
 - 7.1 The United Nations (UN)
 - 7.2 The Organisation of African Unity (OAU)
 - 7.3 The Commonwealth
 - 7.4 The European Community (EC)
 - 7.5 The Non-Aligned Movement (NAM).
- 8. The ceremonial opening will be conducted by the Chief Justice Corbett who would also officiate at the opening prayers to be conducted by religious leaders from the different religious faiths. In particular the Rev Johan Heyns and the Rev Stanley Magoba who, together with Chief

Justice Corbett, were considered as options for serving as convenors of CODESA, would be invited to lead prayers. Leaders from the Muslim, Jewish and Hindu faiths would also be invited to offer prayers at the opening of CODESA.

9. It was decided that decisions of CODESA would be taken by consensus; that where consensus does not exist, the principle of sufficient consensus shall be invoked.

.

1

- 10. All plenary sessions of CODESA will be open to the media.
- 11. It was decided that Justices PJ Schabort and I Mahomed would co-chair all plenary sessions of CODESA.