MCH911-67-6-10



AGENDA FOR WORKING GROUP 2 (CONSTITUTIONAL PRINCIPLES) ON 15.5.92 1992 AT THE WORLD TRADE CENTRE

- 1. Apologies
- 2. Ratification of Agenda
- 3. Report from Steering Committee meeting with DMC (14.5.92): Deadline for report
- 4. Report from principals regarding CMB
- 5. General Constitutional principles
- 6. Final Report

CONVENTION FOR A DEMOCRATIC SOUTH AFRICA

PO Box 307, Isando, 1600, South Africa. Telephone (011) 397-1198/99. Fax (011) 397-2211



THESE ARE DRAFT MINUTES AS APPROVED BY THE CHAIRPERSON. THEY ARE CONFIDENTIAL AND RESTRICTED TO THE MEMBERS OF THE WORKING GROUP, THE DAILY MANAGEMENT COMMITTEE AND THE MANAGEMENT COMMITTEE. THEY ARE SUBJECT TO RATIFICATION BY THE WORKING GROUP AT ITS NEXT MEETING.

MINUTES OF THE ELEVENTH MEETING OF WORKING GROUP 2 (CONSTITUTIONAL PRINCIPLES) HELD AT THE WORLD TRADE CENTRE ON TUESDAY 21 APRIL 1992

PRESENT:

Delegates and advisors (See Addendum A)
M Richards (Chair)
M Phillips (Secretary)
R Hartley (Minutes)

DOCUMENTS DISTRIBUTED:

- 1. Draft agenda
- 2. Ratified minutes of the ninth meeting of Working Group 2 held on 30.3.92 and 31.3.92
- 3. Draft minutes of the tenth meeting of Working Group 2 held on 7.4.92
- 21.4.92 Working Group 2: Suggested discussion on constitution making body prepared by Working Group 2 Steering Committee
- 5. 8.4.92 Memorandum from the Daily Management Committee: Decision on the Media Sub-Committee
- 6. 8.4.92 Memorandum from the Daily Management Committee: Reportback to Codesa 2
- 7. Inkatha Freedom Party Submission (Woodrow Wilson quote)

Apologies 30.3.92 1.

African National Congress C Ramaphosa

(Alternate: A Sachs)

Transkei Government Adv Holomisa

(Alternate: M Nonkonyana, X Mayisela) Prof Koyana Labour Party (in the chair)

(Prof Devenish, LT Landers)

Bophuthatswana Government R Cronje

SG Mothibe I Findlay

M Richards

Ciskei Government VR Zietsman National People's Party B Singh (Alternate: A Rajbansi) H Neerahoo

Inyandza National Movement I Lephoko

Natal and Transvaal Indian Congress N Haysom

South African Government Dr Venter

Ratification of Agenda

- The agenda was ratified with the following changes: 2.1
 - Item 3B "Codesa 2: Expectations and Progress Report" was added.
 - Item 4.1 was amended to read "Further Questions to the IFP and Further 2.1.2 Submissions".
 - Item 6.1 was amended to read "Progress with Public Submissions and Oral 2.1.3 Evidence".
 - Item 5.6.3 "Power Sharing" was added. 2.1.4

Ratification of Minutes 3.

- The minutes of the meeting of 7.4.92 were ratified with the following changes: 3.1
 - R Nogumla was removed from the list of apologies.

Discussion on Assignment 2: Constitution Making Body and Process

- Delegates completed questioning the IFP on their submission of 7.4.92. 4.1
- General Discussion of Key Issues with Reference to the Constitution Making Body 4.2
 - It was agreed that the Steering Committee will meet on Monday 27 April to draw up a proposal for discussion to be presented at the next meeting.

5. Any Other Business

5.1 It was agreed that the secretariat would prepare a list for the Steering Committee of the common principles already agreed to and those yet to be discussed to facilitate the Steering Committee's work.

6. Next Meeting

5.1 The next meeting will take place on 28.4.92 from 10h00 to 16h00 at the World Trade Centre.

ADDENDUM A

The following delegates and advisors signed the Attendance Register of Working Group 2 meeting held on 21 April 1992:

| Organisation | Delegate/Advisor |
|-----------------------------------|------------------|
| African National Congress | MV Moosa |
| | F Ginwala |
| | A Sachs |
| Bophutatswana Government | TE Scheepers |
| Ciskei Government | MC Kashe |
| | IJ Smuts |
| | J Labuschagne |
| Democratic Party | CW Eglin |
| | D Worrall |
| | A Leon |
| | D Welsh |
| Dikwankwetla Party | SOM Moji |
| | S Mopeli |
| | M Mopeli |
| | Prof Wessels |
| Inkatha Freedom Party | N Brits |
| | SH Gumede |
| | M Alachouzos |
| | BS Ngubane |
| Intando Yesizwe Party | AP Laka |
| | SJ Mgidi |
| | MP Mahlangu |
| | IT Mahlangu |
| Inyandza National Movement | EN Ginindza |
| | BE Mabuza |
| | C Albertyn |
| Labour Party | D Lockey |
| | G Devenish |
| | C Nasson |
| | IM Richards |
| | LT Landers |
| Natal/Transvaal Indian Congresses | IC Meer |
| | Y Mohomed |
| | |

F Cachalia

National Party F van Heerden

J Rabie S Camerer I Rautenbach

National People's Party M Mohaniall

S Ismail A Rajbansi H Neerahoo

Solidarity Party K Moodley

I Omar DS Rajah R Arenstein

SA Communist Party J Slovo

B Nzimande N Hoosain E Daniels

SA Government G Viljoen

JT Delport
JHE Basson

Transkei Government R Nogumla

XN Mayisela M Nonkonyana

United People's Front MC Ramusi

RJ Dombo MJ Mahlangu Adv Malatji

Venda Government GM Ligege
MP Nthabalala

A Budeli Adv Mushasha

Ximoko Progressive Party EE Ngobeni
KR Myakayaka

EPP Mhinga

J Ackron