THESE ARE DRAFT MINUTES. THEY ARE CONFIDENTIAL AND RESTRICTED TO THE MEMBERS OF THE WORKING GROUP, THE DAILY MANAGEMENT COMMITTEE AND THE MANAGEMENT COMMITTEE. THEY ARE STILL SUBJECT TO RATIFICATION BY THE WORKING GROUP AT ITS NEXT MEETING.

MINUTES OF THE FIRST MEETING OF WORKING GROUP 1 HELD AT THE WORLD TRADE CENTRE ON MONDAY 20 JANUARY AT 10H30.

PRESENT: Delegates and advisers (see Addendum A)

J Zuma (Chair)
A Feinstein (Secretary)
K Morgan (Minutes)

# Convenor's opening remarks:

In his opening remarks the Convenor, Mr Zuma, stressed the importance of Working Group I in creating as soon as possible, the conditions to enable the other Working Groups to pursue their terms of reference.

# 1.1 Proposed:

- 1.1.1 That in line with the decision taken by the Daily
  Management Committee, the first meeting of the Working
  Group be chaired by a member of the Daily Management
  Committee;
- 1.1.2. That the meeting today deal with procedural questions tabling of guidelines for Chairpersons, Standing Rules, Terms of Reference of Working Group;
- 1.1.3 Investigate mechanisms/structures to facilitate the functioning of Working Group 1 with due regard to:
- The appointment of a Working Group Steering Committee
- The appointment of a rapporteur
- The appointment of a Chairperson for the Working Group
- Scheduling of further meetings.

### 1.1.4. Media:

That the Daily Management Committee issue a press statement on todays meeting and that the Daily Management Committee and Working Group Steering Committee formulate guidelines on publicity.

- 1.2 The proposal was accepted.
- 2. Agenda adopted and seconded.
- 3. Establishing the Mechanisms/Structures to Facilitate Functioning of the Working Group in Accordance with the Guidelines:

### Resolved:

- 3.1 That Mr Zuma Chair this first meeting of Working Group 1 on 20 January.
- 3.2 Working Group Steering Committee:
- 3.2.1 That a Working Group Steering Committee (WGSC) comprising 8 delegates be established;
- 3.2.2. That the brief of the WGSC be to:-

- perform administrative tasks;

- co-ordinate the inputs/submissions of interest groups;
- facilitate the work of Working Group 1 and subcommittees;
- extend the lifespan of the WGSC to be as long as the Working Group is in existence;
- ensure that the WGSC has not a decision making body, but is there to service the Working Group.
- determine the Chairperson of the Working Group meetings.
- 3.2.3. The WGSC comprising the following delegates was established by consensus:

K. Asmal ANC
M.B. Webb Ciskei

D.Dalling Democratic Party
Rev. T.J. Mohape Dikwanwetla Party
D.R.B. Madide Inkatha Freedom Party

C.J. April Labour Party
N. Coetzee R.S.A Government

L.V. Ntsubane Transkei

E. Pahad South African Communist Party

It is noted that Heads of Delegations finally decided on 9 members instead of 8 in the interest of consensus.

### 3.3 Chairmanship:

### Resolved:

- 3.3.1. That the principle of a rotating Chair be accepted;
- 3.3.2. That the WGSC draw up further proposals on the issue of the Chair and submit them to the Working Group.

# 3.4 Support Staff and Resources:

#### Resolved:

That the WGSC draws up a list of services required.

4. Terms of Reference of the Working Group:

### Resolved:

- 4.1.1. To assign to the WGSC the task of putting forward initial proposals of items to be grouped in the Terms of Reference in order to facilitate discussion in the next Working group meeting;
- 4.1.2. That the right of the Working Group be protected to disagree with approaches adopted by the WGSC;
- 4.1.3. That all delegations submit proposals, before 6 February, on prioritising items in the Terms of Reference to assist the WGSC in arriving at a consensus position;
- 4.1.4 That WGSC ensure that all such documentation be circulated in good time.
- 4.2 Sub- Groups, Time Frames and Programme of Work:

#### Resolved:

That the WGSC distribute a working paper on points 5.1-5.3 of the agenda for discussion among delegations.

5. Methods of handling submissions by interested groups to the Working Committee:

### Resolved:

- 5.1 Working Group to receive written submissions via the WGSC who are to sift submissions and make recommendations to Working Group as to who should be heard in oral submissions;
- 5.2 That the Working Group reserve the right to consult experts inside and outside of CODESA, on particular issues;
- 5.3 That the WGSC draft a notice to obtain views relating to implementation of assignment given to Working Group and to draw up guidelines as to whom this notice should be submitted to.
- 5.4 That experts merely facilitate the work of the Working Group which retains the full right to finally resolve issues.

# 6. Outstanding issues:

### Resolved:

- 6.1 That Mr Asmal from the WGSC will liaise with the Secretariat;
- 6.2 That for recording purposes, delegates at future meetings will announce their names and organisations before proceeding to speak;
- 6.3 That after 6 February, Working Group meetings will take place every Monday and Tuesday;
- 6.4 That minutes need only reflect decisions taken by Working Group and that they be submitted to the Chair of that session for approval;
- 6.5 That administrative assistance will be made available to Working Group;
- 6.6 That microphones will be made available at future Working Group meetings;

# 7. Outstanding Issues to be Raised at Next Meeting:

- 7.1 How the Working Group will communicate with the media.
- 2.2 Clarify who can record sessions and the purpose of recordings as well as the length of time those recordings may be kept.

# 8. Dates for Next Meeting:

### Resolved:

- 8.1 Working Group to meet on 6 February, 10am, WTC;
- 8.2 WGSC to meet on 27 January, 2pm, WTC.

Meeting Closed at 3pm.

# ADDENDUM A

The following people completed and submitted registration forms:

Party/Organisation/ Administration	Delegate	Adviser
ANC ANC Bophuthatswana Govt. Bophuthatswana Govt. Ciskei Govt. Ciskei Govt.	K.Asmal J. Zuma S.M Seodi K.C.A.V. Sehume M.B. Webb	P.N. Langa P.M. Maduna J. Esterhuizen
Democratic Party Democratic Party Dikwankwetla Party Dikwankwetla Party	L.W. Maqoma D. Dalling P. Soal J.S.S. Phatang T.J. Mohapi	J. Van Eck D. Smuts M. M. Maekane M.H Cunukelo
Intando Yesizwe Party Intando Yesizwe Party SA Government SA Goverment IFP	E.S. Masango S.L. Mthimunye H.J. Kriel H.J. Coetzee E. Bernard	D.P. Mahlangu D.C.D. Swanepoel L.D. Barnard A. M. Mncwango Mrs Mars
IFP Inyandza Party Inyandza Party Labour Party Labour Party	D. Madide M.G.Gama C.April D. Josephs	H.A Motaung A.J Roper
TIC/NIC TIC/NIC National Party National Party NPP	B. Nair R.M. Shaik G.B. Myburgh B.L. Geldenhuys A.K. Beesham	E.I. Ebrahim L.H. Fick A.G. Oosthuizen D. Chetty
NPP Solidarity Party Solidarity Party SACP SACP	R.B. Garrib P.I. Devan P. Naidoo R. Kasrils E. Pahad	S.M. Govender C.F. Thandroyan C.A. Naguran F. Baleni M.I. Scott
Transkei Govt. Transkei Govt. Venda Govt. Venda Govt. United People's Front United People's Front	L.V.Ntsubane M.A. Ntshinga R.C Nevhutalu P.J. Nembambula M.I Moroamoche R.J.P Maponya Chief SDW Nxumalo	S.P Kakudi M. Mphalwa N.E Malaudzi Rev Ramulondi S. Maja L.L.Mpya E. Mathe
XPP	Z.M. Tlahule	N.M.MTsetwene