DR4 ANE draft. - altern. vezy. to dor. 2. Provincial bounds.

DISCUSSION PAPER

1 APRIL 1993

REGIONAL ADMINISTRATION IN THE TRANSITION PERIOD

1. DEMARCATION OF BOUNDARIES

The provincial boundaries as they existed in 1910 shall form the boundaries for the purpose of regional administration during the period of transit.

2 NO OF REGIONS

There shall accordingly be four (4) regions namely Natal, Transvaal, The Cape Province and the O.F.S. with boundaries as stipulated above.

3 FUNCTIONS

The functions of regions in the transition period shall be as follows:

- 3.1 to effect the phasing out as rapidly as possible existing regional structures and administration and all Apartheid structures within the said regions.
- 3.2 to effect the rationalization and integration of all existing regional administrations and services into the said regions;
- 3.3 to implement and/or participate in the implementation of laws and policies of the National Government.
- 4. The principle upon which the functions set out in 3.1, 3.2 and 3.3 are to be performed shall be based upon the division of functions and arrangements between national government and provinces as they currently exist in the Republic of South Africa viz a viz the provinces of Natal, TRansvaal, Cape Province and O.F.S.
- 4. POWERS OF REGIONAL ADMINISTRATIONS

Subject to the overriding powers of national government, regional administrations shall exercise concurrent powers with national government in respect of all matters allocated by national government save in respect of national defence, national policing, foreign affairs and justice which powers shall be exercised solely by central government.

- 5. STRUCTURES OF ADMINISTRATION
- 5.1 Executive Committee

There shall be established in each region an Executive Committee consisting of 5-7 persons elected by the representatives of the region elected to the National Assembly.

5.2 Administrator

Each region shall have an Administrator appointed by the Executive Committee. He/she shall act as Chair of the Executive Committee and its chief officer.

5.3 Incumbents to the Executive Committee or the office of Administrator may be removed/replaced by the appointing authority at any time