

DIKWANKWETLA

CONSTITUTIONAL PRINCIPLES

- South Africa shall be a sovereign, democratic non-racial and non-sexist state.
- 2. Common citizenship.
- 3. A National constitution shall be supreme law of the land.
- 4. Separation of powers legislative, escecutive and judiciary with appropriate checks and balances.
- 5. Independent and impartial judiciary. Supreme court to be empowered to decide on the constitution.
- 6. Enforceable human rights.
- 7. Diversity of languages, culture and religion shall be acknowledged.
- 8. Representative, accountable government at all levels.
- 9. Universal adult suffrage, common voters' roll and proportional representation.
- 10. Non-discriminatory legislation race, gender etc.
- 11. Equality before the law.
- 12. Three tiers of government each with appropriate legislature, executive and fiscal powers. Powers and functions as well as boundaries to be entrenched in the constitution.
- 13. Delegation of powers.
- 14. The National Government shall have overriding power only in such matters that are not allocated exclusively in the constitution to regional or local levels of government.
- 15. Special procedures involving the consent of regional representatives will be required for changes to the powers or boundaries of their respective regions.

/2

666

- 8
- 16. Two houses of parliament.
- 17. Adoption of constitution:2/3 Majority
- 18. Equality of constituent parts shall be guaranteed.
- 19. Deadlock breaking mechanism to be in place vertical and horizontal.

DIKWANKWETLA PARTY OF SOUTH AFRICA

666