Faculty of Law



UNIVERSITY OF THE WITWATERSRAND, JOHANNESBURG

Private Bag 3, WITS 2050, South Africa · Yelegrams Uniwits' · Telex 4-271255A · Telephone (011) 716-1111

1/4/10/19

FAX: (011) 339-3427

## TELEFAX TRANSMISSION COVER SHEET

If there is a problem with this facsimile transmission, please telephone (011) 716-5530

DATE: 15711 93 NO OF PAGES (including this one) : \_ 397-2211 MESSAGE/INSTRUCTIONS:

## STATEMENT BY LAW FACULTY DEANS CONCERNING PROPOSED METHOD OF APPOINTMENT OF JUDGES TO THE CONSTITUTIONAL COURT

We, the Deans of the Law Faculties listed below, record our protest against the proposal to give effective power to the Government to appoint the majority (or possibly all) of the members of the Constitutional Court.

We are educating our students for an important and constructive role in the constitutional democracy now being developed, a democracy which we welcome and for which we are impatient. But there can be no constitutional democracy if the highest court responsible for upholding that democracy is not independent. The only guarantee of independent judges is a selection procedure designed to choose independent judges.

We urge the negotiators at Kempton Park to reject this illconsidered proposal, and we urge the ANC and the Government to withdraw it.

CHL 15 November 1993

Professor Carole Lewis Faculty of Law University of the Witwatersrand.

Professor D Visser Faculty of Law University of Cape Town

Professor D van der Merwe Faculty of Law Rand Afrikaans University

Professor D McQuoid Mason Faculty of Law University of Natal, Durban

Professor J Burchell Faculty of Law University of Natal, Pietermaritzburg

Professor C van Loggerenberg Faculty of Law University of Port Elizabeth

page 2

Professor G Lubbe Faculty of Law University of Stellenbosch

Professor R Harker Faculty of Law Rhodes University

Professor V Jaichand Faculty of Law University of Durban Westville

Issued by Carole Lewis, University of the Witwatersrand.

Caste Senil