

IDASA

Transvaal Office

P O Box 56950 • ARCADIA • 0007

Telephone (012) 342 1476-9 • Fax (012) 43 3387

ATTENTION:

Negotiators at the multi-party talks

FAX:

011 - 397 2211

FROM:

Institute for a Democratic Alternative for South Africa

DATE:

10 August 1993

This fax consists of seven (7) pages. If anything is missing contact Kerry at (012) 342 1477.

THE PROPOSED ESTABLISHMENT OF A SUBCOUNCIL ON THE STATUS OF WOMEN: FOURTH DRAFT OF THE TRANSITIONAL EXECUTIVE COUNCIL BILL

We, staff members of the Institute for a Democratic Alternative for South Africa, support the inclusion of a Subcouncil on the Status of Women in the TEC as proposed by the fourth draft bill.

We endorse the powers detailed in the bill, and request that the following be added:

"... that the Subcouncil has the power to ensure that policy and draft legislation emanating from negotiations promote a non-sexist culture".

We recommend that such a council consist predominantly of women who have a proven track record of involvement in gender issues in the fields of law, affirmative action, education, health, development, et cetera, and who represent the political spectrum in so far as is possible. Individuals on the council should enjoy the support of the majority of women's organisations. One way of ensuring this would be for the State President to appoint such people in consultation with the Women's National Coalition, an organisation which is arguably more representative than any other.

Signatories to the above petition:

National Office Staff, Cape Town

Liz Sykes

IDASA National Office

Disdive Kulu IDASA National Office

H'llark

Peddy Clark Idasa National Office

Warren Krarchik

Idasa Mational Office

Manino

Pam Lambie Idasa National Office

Marilyn Jackson Idasa National Office

David Serven
Idasa National Office

Veronica Taylor
Idasa Rational Office

Alex Foreign Idage National Office

Beverley Haubrich Idasa National Office

Media Department Staff, Cape Town

Sue Valentine
IDASA Media Department

Ronel Scheffer
IDASA Media Department

Shauna Westcott IDASA Media Department

Shireen Badat
IDASA Media Department

Natal Office, Durban

& Affhi

Gaist

Shelly Gold . D. L. D.

Transvaal Office, Pretoria

Transvaal Regional Coordinator

Kerry Harris

Transvaal Regional Coordinator

Ivor Jenkins

Transvaal Regional Director

E. Mahlanga

Elizabeth Mahlangu

Transvaal Regional House Keeper

EMOTALE

Ethel Marabe

Transvaal Regional Secretary

Bea Roberts

Transvaal Regional Coordinator

PR.Zondo.

Paul Zondo

Transvaal Regional Coordinator

Border Office, East London

Dumine W Strong

Glern Bownes

SMAYITM ZONOMON

Eastern Cape Office, Port Elizabeth

5w-

SANDRA WREN
REGIONAL CO-ORDINATOR

NAZLE FATAAR

RACHAEL MATHEBE ADMIN SECRETARY

Training Centre for Democracy, Johannesburg

Agring ALISON CURRY

Departe Water

18 Workersh

Meihotah Meihotah

Orange Free State Office, Bloemfontein

TEBOHO LOATE (Mr)

HENNING MYBURGH (Mr)

GRACE MASOABI (MIS)

Alegaria,
KOBUS VAN LOGGERENBERG (Mr)

LERATO TLHOGO (Mrs)

Western Cape Office, Cape Town

David Schmidt

Roetsee

Erika Coetzee

Sazikazi Zibaya

1.80010

Michelle Booth

Chrasmel.

Charles Erasmus

Paula Gumede

Indicia.

438.