a/u/a/1/4/2

CONSTITUTIONAL ASSEMBLY

TELEPHONE: FAX: FAX:

(021) 403 2252 (021) 461 4339 INTERNATIONAL: (27) 21 403 2252 (27) 21 461 4339

PO Box 15 CAPE TOWN 8000 REPUBLIC OF SOUTH AFRICA

REF NO:

MEMORANDUM

All Theme Committee 2 Members To:

Nonkosi Cetywayo, Managing Secretary From:

4 November 1994 Date:

Subject: **Submissions and Reading list**

Please find herein enclosed:

- a copy of a reading list which you may find useful for purposes of Theme a) Committee 2's tasks.
- lists of names of experts submitted by various political parties. b)

CONSTITUTIONAL ASSEMBLY

THEME COMMITTEE 2 STRUCTURE OF GOVERNMENT

READING LIST

- 1. Regionalism: Problems and Prospects, Bertus de Villiers and Jabu Sindane
- 2. South African human rights and labour law yearbook 1991 [9101399ii)]. Shelved at: Ra 323.0968 SOU
- 3. Critical choices for South Africa [900238]. Shelved at: a 320.968
- BASSON, Dion A [a 342.68 BAS] South African constitutional law / by Dion A. Basson and Henning P. Viljoen; translation by Christa van der Walt
- BISH, Robert L [a 351.093 BIS] Basic principles of political decentralisation to local authorities
- 6. BLAAUW, Loammi Cornelia [a 342.68087 BLA] The constitutional tenability of group rights
- 7. BOULLE, laurence [a 342.68 BOU] Constitutional and administrative law: basic principles / Laurence Boule, Bede Harris, Cora Hoexter
- 8. BOURINOT, Sir John George [R 328.7105 BOU] Parliamentary procedure and practice with an introductory account of the origin and growth of parliamentary institutions in the Dominion of Canada
- 9. BOURINOT, Sir John George [R 328.7105 BOU] Parliamentary procedure and practice in the Dominion of Canada with historical introduction and an appendix
- 10. BRAZIER, Rodney [354.41 BRA] Constitutional practice
- 11. BRAZIER, Rodney [342.4103 BRA] Constitutional reform
- 12. BUTTERWORTHS selection of statutes : constitutional law / editors J.C. Bekker, G Carpenter [a 32.68 BUT]
- 13. CANADIAN constitutionalism : 1791-1991 / [edited by Janet Ajzenstat][342.71 CAN]

- 14. CARSTENS, Marthinus Jacobus [a 320.80968 CAR] Local government across-border co-operation with specific reference to the Economic Community of Southern Africa
- DISTRIBUTION of seats between men and women in national assemblies : a bilingual survey of 144 countries with a Parliament as at 30 June 1987 [P 328.33 DIS]
- 16. DISTRIBUTION of seats between men and women in national Parliaments : statistical data from 1945 to 30 June 1991 [R328.33 DIS]
- DISTRIBUTION of seats by sex in parliamentary assemblies : a bilingual survey of 142 countries with a Parliament as at 30 June 1985 [P 328.33 DIS]
- 18. DISTRIBUTION of seats by sex in parliamentary assemblies : a study of 143 countries [P 328.33 DIS]
- 19. ELECTORAL Law [PAM 880389] Bonn : Inter Nationes, Editorial Department, 1986
- 20. ELECTORAL systems : a world-wide comparative study /inter-Parliamentary Union [R 324.63 ELE]
- 21. FORSYTH, Murray [PAM 870422] Federalism and the future of South Africa



VRYHEIDSFRONT

The following experts should also be consulted:

- 1) Constitutional Law:
 - * Prof. David van Wyk, UNISA.
 - * Prof. M.G. Erasmus, Univ. of Stellenbosch.
 - * Prof. Andries Raath, Univ. of the OFS.

2) Political Science:

- * Prof. Dan Kriek, UNISA.
- * Prof. Welsh, Univ. of Cape Town.

3) Fiscal Experts:

- * Prof. Fanie Cloete, W-Cape Demarcation Board.
- * Prof. C. Thornhill, Univ. of Pretoria.

(Addresses of above structures and experts wil be supplied to the secretary.)

entella

(Senator P.H.Groenewald) Maj-genl. Freedom Front.

PARLIAMENT OF THE REPUBLIC OF SOUTH AFRICA

TEL: (021) 403-2911

Ref No.



NATIONAL ASSEMBLY PO BOX 15 CAPE TOWN 8000

MEMORANDUM

To: Nonkosi Cetywayo Managing Secretary, Theme Committee 2 Room 211 Constitutional Assembly

From: Colin Eglin MP Democratic Party

Date: 26 October 1994

Subject: Theme Committee No 2 Technical Committee Members

Your letter of 24 October refers.

The DP would like to propose the following persons as members of the Technical Committee for Theme Committee 2.

1. Professor David Welsh

Professor of Southern African Studies in the Political Studies Department at UCT. Analyst, author and advisor on constitutional systems.

2. Mr Richard Rosenthal

Attorney; one of the founders of the Legal Resources Centre in Cape Town; Governor of the Technical Committee on the Electoral Act during the process at Kempton Park.

kalen Edin

Colin Eglin MP

CONSTITUTIONAL ASSEMBLY

.

THEME COMMITTEE 2 STRUCTURE OF GOVERNMENT

ANC SUBMISSIONS : NAMES OF EXPERTS

Professor Fikile Ndaki, UNIBO Professor Koyana, UNITRA Essa Moosa, Attorney Professor Hugh Corder, UCT Professor Sam Wolutshungu, I.I.A. (Institute of International Affairs) Adv. Nona Goso, ADV Group Pansy Tlakula, Attorney Christina Murray, UCT Linda Zama, Attorney